Favo- Sunday English Edition (calendar week 8/2012)

I used to do this last year and vowed not do it again this year but actually I feel like it today, and since most of the products featured are available internationally (or they are not available anymore at all) I thought why not do this in English for a change. (If I butcher the language anywhere I’m deeply sorry I didn’t mean to, also if you want to see a bigger version of the picture just click on it!)

Let’s begin with the hair stuff:

I finally ran out of my old hair spray and needed to pick up a new can. A while ago I wanted to find out what all the fuzz about the Elnett sprays was about so I picked up a sample size of the ultra strong hold- ultra silky version and was immediately convinced. This spray did everything it claims which means: no hard, crisp hair even after using a fairly big amount of spray and a strong hold even in my thick heavy hair. This week I finally picked up a full size and even though this spray smells horribly like dead grandma it’s still the best spray I ever used and I see this becoming a staple in my everyday routine.
The other hair ‘thing’ that stood out to me this week was my new brush. I needed a new one because I lost my old one at the pool (so me #epicfail). So I picked out a large paddle brush with a combination of artificial and natural bristles and I am very much in love with it, it makes my hair super soft and smooth and seems to add shine to my long sometimes rather dry hair, perfect!

As for skin: In the past icy cold days here in Germany I learned the hard way that I have to moisturize at least once a day to keep the dry skin on my body happy and healthy. After using up all of the body lotions I still had flying around at home (I suck at using them up: I open the bottles, use them twice and then they are sitting around collecting dust) and throwing out half a tub of Clinique moisturizer because it had gone bad (before time I might add😦 ) I picked up the Dove Visible Effects Body Lotion and I am really impressed. It has a cream-gel formula that sinks in really fast, is non-sticky and super rich. And it DOES have ‘visible effects’: My skin looks and feels smoother and healthier than it has in a long time.

When it comes to skin care products for my face I couldn’t recommend the LUSH Tea Tree Water more. The skin on my face is actually combination-oily and acne-prone and in the past nothing has ever worked to keep it in check. Ever since I started using this toner twice a day my break-outs have healed up and my skin is not quite as oily as it used to be.

Make up staples this week have been my Flormar Perfect Coverage Foundation in 105 Porcelain Ivory, MAC MSF Redhead (limited edition, most likely not available anymore), Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow/Liner in Top Brass, the essence Liquid Eyeshadow in Ice Crystals On My Window (limited edition n/a anymore) and the essence Multi Action Smokey Eyes Mascara (d/c). Why they pull the Smokey Eyes Mascara from the permanent range is a mystery to me. I got one of the last tubes and I am going to miss this product very VERY much.

Nailpolish-wise I take turns in wearing essence Colour and Go #66 shiny goddess (sparkly pewter-gold) and #92  better late than never (red-pink creme). These polishes have amazing quality (opaque in two coats, quick dry, long lasting) and that for 1,29  € a pop. I love to buy these tiny bottles because that way I have at least a shot at emptying them, also the colour and go range is very up to date.

Now, since you made it to the end of this ginormously long post here is a little treat: My favorite book this week was Richelle Mead’s ‘Succubus on Top’. Mead is probably best known for her Vampire Acadamy books but since I am sick and tired of vampires a friend of mine kindly lend me this series which is mainly about a succubus (d’uh), angels, demons and a little bit about vampires too. I really enjoy reading this, if this is up your alley and you are on the lookout for something new go check it out!

And last but not least the dvd’s I’ve been watching this week have once again been season 1 of Hawaii Five-0. You’d think I’d get sick of this at some point. In short: Hawaii Five-0 is the remake of a 70s crime procedural with Alex O’Loughlin, Scott Caan, Grace Park and Daniel Dae Kim starring as Steve ‘Steven’ McGarrett, Daniel ‘Danno’ Williams, Kono Kalakaua and Chin Ho Kelly. This is obviously not the most innovative series in the world but it is funny and sweet with a lot of action and of course the wonderful Hawaiian landscapes. The chemestry and dynamic between the ‘core four’ in general and Scott and Alex in particular makes me love this show (season 2 is currently airing on CBS).

This completes a ridiculously long Favo- Sunday, if you made it until down here congratulations, you are my hero, have a cookie on me🙂

I hope you guys continue to have a lovely day, laters!

Leave a Reply

