Hair Masterpost and First Attempt with a Conic Wand

 I talked about writing this post for months but I always thought I wasn’t ready, something was missing another thing not perfect yet. Then again, I’ve been using the same stuff for months now and even re-purchased a shampoo, which usually doesn’t happen, since I never found one that seemed worth it. So I decided to ignore everything that was not perfect yet and dive right in, I mean, I can always post updates, right?

 Hairstory:
I was blessed with rather thick and sturdy hair in a nice reddish brown color. My hair was so thick and sturdy in fact, that an old hairdresser of mine complained she couldn’t handle it. Needless to say I switched the hairdresser after that. I mean she is the expert, if she can’t handle my hair she can’t be really good, eh?
Over the past I went through phases of coloring my hair and leaving it be until about five years ago, I decided to dye it much darker. For about a year I dyed it every  5 weeks with the result that my hair was in such a horrible state that I had to cut it off to my earlobes and let the rest grow out. Mental note: If you dye your hair let a professional do it and don’t dry it out further by using a volumizing shampoo!!
Generally speaking my hair is rather dry but I suffer from a greasy scalp, due to this the past 4 years were dedicated to finding shampoos and conditioners that would not weigh my hair further down but still keep it intensely moisturized. And yes, it took me until now to find a combo that I am content with. 
One important step on my way, was to change around my way of washing my hair, by only applying conditioner from my earlobes down and the shampoo only on my scalp, ever since then my hair has been doing a lot better. 
After an odyssee of trying out everything from high end brands to the lowest end drugstore, this is what remained: 

 

 Essentials:
In the picture above you can see the stuff I use every time I wash my hair.
(left to right)

L’Oréal Elvital Glatt- Intense with Argan Oil and Thermo- Protect Shampoo and Conditioner 

(The equivalent for this in the UK and the US seems to be the L’Oréal ELVIVE Smooth-Intense range)
This shampoo leaves my hair shiny, clean and deeply moisturized (yes, the shampoo alone!). It worked miracles for my hair. The scent is very light and fresh and not at all your typical heavy oil smell.
As mentioned before I apply the conditioner from the earlobes down. It is a thick yellowy paste of the same scent as the shampoo and is as well deeply moisturizing without weighing my hair down.

Kérastase Specifique K Bain Gommage Intervention Antipelliculaire
I might switch this shampoo out once it is empty, in fact I will have to, since it has been discontinued. This shampoo stands for the fact that I always pair my argan oil shampoo with a shampoo for greasy hair, I know this sounds as if they would cancel each other out but in my case they really don’t. On the other hand the Kérastase shampoo does not work as spectecularly as I would like and I won’t miss it much when I run out. My next candidate to try out is actually the Redken shampoo for greasy hair.

Nivea Styling Mousse Volume Sensation
Again a ‘I can’t live without this and will repurchase’-product. This mousse gives my hair longlasting volume and for some reason it holds my grease at bay, when I use this product I get a lot later greasy than if I don’t. I just massage it into my roots before blow- drying my hair (again I only blow-dry the scalp and at a very low heat-setting).

L’Oréal Elvital Öl Magique
(L’Oréal ELVIVE Extraordinary Oil)
This is my latest addition and it caused an absolute addiction. I use this oil every day and sometimes twice. For one I put 4 pumps of this through my hair before I wash it, before blow-drying I put two pumps through the still wet ends, and every day after brushing out my hair I put a pump of this again through my ends.
Nothing has ever left my ends so soft and healthy-feeling than this product. My hair absorbs the oil fully and does not become weighed down at all no matter how many times I use it or how much I pack on.
Using hot tools on my hair used to be a complete nightmare because my ends would need days and days to recover from it, this oil erases the dryness caused by the heat from my hair and leaves it soft and smooth without ruining the curls, I couldn’t rave about this enough. Another plus is that it comes at a significantly lower price point than Moroccan Oil.   

 

 Semi-Essentials

Syoss Anti- Breakage Milk
I use this whenever I wash my hair but mainly to use it up. This doesn’t seem to do anything for my hair but it doesn’t hurt it either.

Schwarzkopf Gliss Kur Oil Nutritive and Ultimate Repair Express Repair Leave- In Conditioning Spray
I used to wear these every day but the argan oil conditioner and the hair oil have made them pretty much redundant and I only use them when my hair seems to need an extra kick. I still love these though I think they are great products and definitely worth checking out!  

  

 Styling Products


L’Oréal Elnett Absolute & Shine Hairspray
Smells like dead grandma but this is certainly one of the best hairprays I ever had and worth every penny, it gives me all the hold I need but leaves my hair feeling soft and natural, in other words it does exactly what it says it would.

Balea Shine Gel Wax
I don’t think this is available outside of continental Europe but than again it is not too unique either. This comes as a clear jelly, smells nice, gives my hair a nice shine and gets the job done. I mainly use this to calm down fly-aways when I put my hair up in a ponytail or a bun.

Schwarzkopf got2b guardian angel Heat Protectant up to 220°C
My go- to heat protectant. I love the smell and it makes my hair very glossy. I use this whenever I use hot tools. I might switch this out for something that protects my hair more from drying out but for now  this bottle is still quite full and I will use this up.

      
A little Bonus for your patience:
Today a little dream came true: I received the conic wand I bought from a fellow blogger and of course I had to try it out right away and this is the result of the first attempt. It will take some more practice but I am really very happy with it. (I am planning a seperate post on my hot tools, this one is too long already ;)  )

Leave a Reply

