March ’13 Beauty Favorites

I know, I know I once said I wouldn’t do monthly favorites because I couldn’t for the life of me remember what I used over the month. And then it dawned on me: The Lord in his great wisdom has given us that funny white stuff with those sticks to smear color on it, and what can I say I made use of it and here we are🙂

 Perfumewise this month has been a transition from the warmer winter-scents to my favorite spring fragrance.
The first on the left is Kylie Minogue’s Pink Sparkle (head: grapefruit, peach, lily of the valley; heart: champagne, gardenia, jasmin; base: musk, vanilla, vetiver). To me it smells like a warm sweet scent, somewhere in the middle between floral, fruity and hint of gourmande.
The one in the middle is Miss Sixty’s Rock Muse (head: plum, gooseberry, red currant, grapefruit and bergamotte; heart: jasmine, tea, heliotrope, rose; base: sandal wood, basmati rice, vetiver, patchouli, musk). Still warm but not as sweet as Pink Sparkle. And on the far left one of my all time favorite perfumes dkny be delicious fresh blossom (head: grapefreuit, cassis, apricot; heart: lily of the valley, jasmine, rose petals; base: apple, light woods). Looking at the composition of this I have no idea how this is called ‘fresh blossom’  or why it smells so floral to me. Either way it does and it is one of my favorite spring/summer scents. It is so fresh and lovely, quite potent, so a little goes a long way and it lingers all day on my skin. I’m really excited to wear this more.

 On to nailpolishes: I loved to wear the combination above! I used essence color and go 140 go bold as a base color and essence Oz The Great and Powerful cracking top coat 02 Winds of Change on top. This was actually born when I looked up the opening date for Iron Man 3, the gold with the shattered red on top screams Iron Man, no?

 The other three colors that I wore a lot were all by Catrice (officially my favorite nailpolish brand of all time):
875 All I Can Blue – The brightest most stunning blue I have ever seen with a hint of purple
C03 Madame Butterfly (from the Neo Geisha Collection) – such a beautiful muted pink-red
900 Steel My Heart – This is a brushed metal effect polish. It has a purple-y grey base with a lot of green and blue glitter. It dries matte and textured and I just love the effect of matte gritty-ness with the blue and green glitter catching the light, such a beaut! Too bad they kicked this from the new standard range…

 My most-worn lipsticks of the month are both by Rimmel and not available in Germany anymore. This is the second brand after Revlon in two years that pulls out of the German market just before they put out a boat-load of brilliant products (I think Rimmel is still available via asos.com but I am just not comfortable buying make up I don’t know online).
Oh well, back to what I actually wanted to blog about!
The lipstick on the left is Lasting Finish by Kate in 16 a light, bright opaque peachy coral. The lipstick contains 4g (0.14oz), it has a light sweet scent to it that is not noticeable once on the lips. It is not drying and lasts roughly 3-4 hours on me.
On the right you can see the beauty that is Moisture Renew Lipstick in 180 Vintage Pink. I could kick myself that I never actually shelled out the 8€ that those babies cost until it was too late. The formula is brilliant: buttery, smooth and super moisturizing and despite all that butteryness they don’t move all over your face but actually stay put.
I picked up two different colors of the range and they both behaved the same way (two is not enough to tell whether a formula is consistent but still…) If you have dry lips like me these will come as a godsent!
Vintage Pink is a purpley mauve, and on me it is actually a little bit like ‘my lips but better’. Despite my very pale skin (MAC nw 10) it is not harsh against my skin if anything it brightens my complexion the way purples tend to do on me.
If you can get your hands on these, and you need a new lipstick check them out, they are worth a look.

 After being stuck on bebe young care chapsticks for over a year I gravitated back to my blistex this month. I enjoy the thin but extremely moisturizing formulation a lot. I use the Lip Relief Cream before bed and the Lip Tone throughout the day. They are cooling and a little minty but don’t sting my lips. They also work very well under lipsticks I find.

 I wore excessive amounts of eyeliner this month and skipped the eyeshadow almost completely. The Max Factor Liquid Effect Pencils (Black Fire/Brown Blaze) were with me for the ride. They have a very soft, gel-like texture and just glide on without tugging. After a few seconds they set and won’t budge all day. I believe Covergirl makes a similar pencil (Liquid Last?). I love them, again if you are on the look out for a good new pencil liner take a look! Another plus is that the Brown Blaze one is actually rather cool toned and not too red at all. I had problems before with brown pencils that were too red and made me look like I had a sore eye.

 My most worn mascaras this month were the Max Factor 2000 Calorie when I was in a hurry ( it has quite a dry formula, gives instant volume, holds the curl and I generally don’t blob with it) and if I had a little more time I used a combination of Maybelline The Rocket and Max Factor False Lash Effect Waterproof. On its own I didn’t like the Rocket at all: It gave volume and length allright, but my lashes drooped within seconds, enter the FLE. I don’t like this mascara. There is only one eye make up remover that gets it off but it takes time, and I really can’t be bothered. Anyways, to save the Rocket I dug the FLE out and applied it only to the roots of my lashes and then the Rocket on top and what can I say? I never had lashes like this before in my life: all the staying power of the FLE + the volume and length of the Rocket = thick, fanned out, ultra long lashes, holy crap! I would never recommend each on their own and much less would I recommend to buy them both together (what a waste of money!) but if you happen to have both, try and combine them, you might like what you find! (oh, the Covergirl Lash Blast is the same as the Max Factor FLE, but I’m not sure whether they do a 2000 calorie mascara version too [they should, it’s brilliant])

 Most worn blush for months and months now has been MAC Darkly My Dear. If I ever run out of this I’m gonna cry! But for now it is the gift that keeps on giving, you can barely tell that I touched it at all and I wear it almost every single day. This is another product that seems so dark in the pan but actually brightens my complexion and gives me a nice flush. After what has to be two years I’m still very much in love with it.

And last but not least my favorite hand cream of all time. And yes it says Limited Edition and no they don’t do this anymore. It smells like ripe mangoes, it is moisturizing, it does take a moment to sink in but for the scent alone I don’t mind giving it that moment. It is a 100ml tub and it will take me a while to go through this but I already dread the day I am done with this.
This year’s scent they brought out is a berry scent. And it is a nice scent for a berry scent, but it is still a berry scent which I just don’t like. Lord help me I just don’t. I know my best friend loves it and I’m happy for her, but can I just have my mango-scent back, please?

Looking back on this post I have come to the conclusion that my super power is to write the world’s longest, most ramble-y blog posts. If you made it until down here you should receive a medal or something, if you even enjoyed yourself a little bit it would make my day if you left a comment telling me so.
Either way thank you for reading! Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

