Everything is Vikings and Nothing Hurts: Hair and Make Up Inspired by Lagertha

taken from televixen.com Hair loosely based on this pic

I discovered the TV-series ‘Vikings’. If you know me and you know the show, this tells you everything you need to know. If you don’t know me (or the show) here is what you need to know to understand: ‘Vikings’ is a show on the History Channel, written and produced by the team around Michael Hirst who also dreamed Showtime’s ‘The Tudors’ into being. ‘Vikings’ tells the story of the rise of Viking king Ragnar Lothbrok, who was one of the first to sail west to find new let’s say ‘raiding grounds’ for his people. A side effect was contact with the already christianized culture of 800’s A.D. England. The depiction of Viking culture is due to it being on the History Channel relatively accurate. This not about cliche- Vikings with horned helmets, this show has been carefully researched. And this is pretty much where my obsession comes in: Growing up, my parents instilled a great love for medieval and norse history into me and my sister. My first ever vacation when I was about 2 years old took me to Denmark and ruined me for any other places for the rest of my life (the year after, my parents would take me to the alps and I kept on complaining that I wanted the ocean and nothing else, like only a 3-year-old can). Even at that first vacation my parents had taken me to the big Viking research center and museum in Roskilde, where (amongst other things) they built a dragonboat and sailed all the way to America under authentic conditions. Pretty impressive, no? A couple of years later we went to the north of Germany and guess what? There was another archeological site/ Viking museum built around a harbour/settlement where again they had found ships and fortifications from way back when. The museum is especially targeted at families with young kids and there is really a lot to do both inside and outside the museum and my sister and I would make my parents take us back there every year. (I’ll put the links for  Roskilde and Haithabu (the center in Germany) at the bottom of this text.)
As I grew older I read more about Viking culture and the love for it never diminshed (admittedly there is also a particulary soft spot for bands like Leaves’ Eyes and Amon Amarth in my heart but that doesn’t really count, even though Vinland Saga and Njord by Leaves’ Eyes are absolutely exceptional works of art in my opinion. And I mean it’s music, it doesn’t have to be historically accurate.)
Back to the actual topic of this post: I’m a girl and a make up girl at that and of course I paid attention to hair, make up and costumes on the show. Responsible for costume is designer Joan Bergin, who researched Viking history and put her findings into the design of the amazing clothing used on the show (Article on Joan Bergin and the ‘Vikings’ costumes).
From the very beginning of watching the show I was fascinated by the character Lagertha (Lothbrok’s wife) and her hair and make up.
The make up on the show is obviously very natural and glowy, but the girls (and some of the boys, yes, Floki, dear, I’m lookin’ at you) tend to go quite heavy on the khol (coal :P) around the eyes  And here is my recreation of it:

I spend quite some time on the skin, using my normal combo at first (MAC Studio Fix Fluid NW10 + L’Oréal Perfect Match Powder in C/K1), then slightly bronzing the perimeter of my face, the tops of my cheek bones and the bridge of my nose with a powder bronzer (Catrice Sun Glow 010). To bring some glow back into my now rather matte face, i used a light golden loose glow powder (RdL Aqua Face Powder (limited edition last summer), any highlighter will do really. On the apples of my cheeks I put a rather sheer glowy peachy blush (MNY 301).
Now to the eyes, i wanted them to be rather shiny and smudgy at the same time, so I used Maybelline Color Tattoo in 65 Pink Gold (American equivalent should be 55 Inked in Pink) all over the lid, the I lined my upper and lower lashline with the Maybelline EyeStudio Gel Liner in 01 Black and smudged it out with a pencil brush, then re-applied a thin black line on the upper lashline and applied black powder shadow to blend out the lower line. Last I curled my lashes and used Max Factor 2000 Calorie Mascara on them and filled in my brows (Catrice Eye Brow Stylist 030 Brow-n-eyed Peas).
On my lips I dabbed some MAC Myth and blended it through with Maybelline Watershine Volume XL gloss in 703 Beige Up.

For the hair, I slightly back-combed my front section and pinned it back.
The I reverse-braided two strands of hair on each side my face and made sure they were braided very tightly
to my scalp. The upper two I tied together at the back of my head, the lower two I left hanging down on each side.

And here is the final look. I know this was another long one, I hope you enjoyed it anyway! Have a lovely day!

Links:

Haithabu (ger)

Roskilde (en, also comes in ger, dk and fr)

Leave a Reply

