Unboxing RiRi Woo: Comparison and Swatches

Skadi had to examine the parcel too🙂
 Soooo, I couldn’t resist. I couldn’t help it. I had to. Even though I probably shouldn’t have. Anyways, I did. And here it is: RiRi Woo
I also bought the Stackable Travel Jars. No more logging around big shampoo bottles for a weekender *yay
Here you can see the embossing, and the new shape of the lipstick.

It is absolutely beautiful: A deep blueish almost pinky-cherry red, that comes off a little brighter on the lips than it looks in the tube. And it is possibly the mattest matte I’ve ever seen. My lips look like they have been powdered. I love that. But it is not for everyone, I know. Despite being such a hyped up limited edition product it comes in the regular MAC bullet with the RiRi signature embossed on the lipstick.
MAC has also changed the shape of the lipstick, I don’t know though, if just for this lipstick or for all that are to come.

I’ve been wearing the lipstick for roughly three hours now and so far it is holding up very well even though I had a big dinner and some tea, and despite being dry RiRi Woo doesn’t seem to be drying.

left to right: Red Racer, RiRi Woo, Deeply Adored, Dark Deed

I compared all of the red MAC lipsticks I own with RiRi Woo because I was worried it would be too close to one of them and therefore redundant but I think this lipstick is because of its finish so unique that the purchase for me is justified. On the back of my hand it does look quite similar to Red Racer, but in my eyes Red Racer is less blue, warmer and definitely glossier than RiRi Woo. Deeply Adored and Dark Deed are each darker and more berry or plummy respectively.

left to right: Red Racer (Satin), RiRi Woo (Retro Matte), Deeply Adored (Matte), Dark Deed (Amplified)

I love how even Deeply Adored is glossier than RiRi Woo. If you wondered what the difference between Matte and Retro Matte finishes is: Matte is in fact shiny compared to Retro Matte😀

RiRi Woo will be available again in June. If you love matte reds and are okay with a rather dry lipstick you will love this one.

Leave a Reply

