Confessions of a Mascara Addict: 10 Reviews and 2 First Impressions

20130823-214831.jpg

My eyes au naturel

Hello and welcome to my blog at the new address! As I started a nailblog with my two best friends here on wordpress just recently (you can find us under sisterhoodofthetravellingnailpolish.wordpress.com if you are interested shameless selfpromotion) it seemed to make sense to pull my old blog from blogger and move it to wordpress to have my two playgrounds under one roof. Plus, if I see my so sadly neglected baby constantly while checking on the stats of my new baby maybe I can finally manage to update more regularly, fingers crossed.

As you read from the title this post is about mascaras. Along with my nailpolish problem I seem to have a mascara problem as well. I have ten. 1 0. For two eyes. And then essence had a promotion for their new get big lashes triple black in which you received either the original get big lashes or the waterproof version along with the triple black for free. Obviously I fell head first into this trap. I included the two new mascaras as first impressions at the end of this post.

Please excuse my bare and somewhat problematic skin, I thought I would put the mascara at the center of attention and leave everything else bare.  The mascaras are in no particular order, some I love, some I hate and some are so-so. You will notice that my eyes are various shades of red, this is due to the application and removal of twelve different mascaras, even though my eyes didn’t bother me as much as I thought they would. This I owe to my lovely cleanser which I will tell you about further down this post. BEWARE! This is a(nother) long one, grab a cup of tea, a snack and settle in! I hope you’ll enjoy.

20130823-214844.jpg

Max Factor False Lash Effect Waterproof (Covergirl Lashblast Waterproof)

I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with this one. The result the Max Factor False Lash Effect Waterproof (this is the Euro sister of Covergirl’s Lashblast Waterproof) gives is beautiful. My lashes are flared out, lengthened, separated and it holds the curl like a dream. Alas it WAS a bitch and a half to remove. Recently I found two formulas that take the FLE WP off effortlessly: the bebe young care formula for waterproof eye make up be it the wipes, the liquid remover or the cleansing milk, all three take the FLE WP off. My favorite out of the three is the cleansing milk for dry and sensitive skin because I can just massage it into my lashes when I take my face make up off and it removes the mascara completely without irritating my eyes. Now that I have a working remover I wear this quite a bit.

20130823-215020.jpg

Catrice Evolution to Revolution Ultra Black Volume Mascara

The Catrice Evolution to Revolution is a 2 in 1 mascara. Step 1 gives a very natural finish as you can see above step 2 thickens the lashes and makes them quite spidery and clumpy which occasionally I absolutely love. This one has been discontinued but I will happily use it up. I love that I have this clumpy messy option on my arsenal.

20130823-215041.jpg

Maybelline The Rocket Volum’Express

The Rocket is one of the most hyped up mascaras I have read about in a while. Everybody seemed to use it and I fell for the hype. In the beginning I absolutely hated it. It didn’t hold the curl at all which is one of the things that makes me toss a mascara out without looking at it twice. For a while I paired it with FLE WP and loved the results because it gives massive lashes, a bit like the Evolution to Revolution only better. The more it dries in the better it seems to get, though. I quite like the result you see above. I might give this mascara a second chance even though I won’t repurchase it. I can’t be bothered to wait for a mascara to become good. It better be great from the beginning.

20130823-215149.jpg

essence multi action blackest black

I don’t even know why I still have this. It doesn’t do much: It doesn’t lengthen, it doesn’t hold a curl and now it’s almost completely dry even though I didn’t use it at all. Out it goes. It has nothing on the old discontinued Black Mania mascara which I loved. For me it’s a gigantic fail.

20130823-215212.jpg

essence multi action

The original multi action is one of those that is quite hyped in Germany as well and with every right. It is a beautiful allrounder, quite an everyday mascara that you chuck on without worrying too much about it. Length, volume, curl, all there and at roughly €2,50 a complete bargain. One of my faves!

20130823-215228.jpg

Mac Factor Eye Brightening

I got this one in a promotion for a Max Factor liquid liner and I am surprised how much I love this. It is a reddened black with shimmer particles. I like the rubber wand, it gives definition to my lashes, curl and length are good and the red gives it a softer more natural look. I’ve been using it quite a bit lately but I don’t think I will repurchase it.

20130823-215303.jpg

Max Factor 2000 Calorie

This another one of my alltime faves. The 2000 calorie is super black and volumizing, holds the curl and lengthens. It is like a slightly blacker, fancier version of the the essence multi action. Even though at €8 it is significantly more pricey I’d still repurchase it, another great allrounder.

20130823-215313.jpg

essence all eyes on me

I love tonal mascaras like the Max Factor Eye Brightening. The all eyes on me for green eyes is green toned. Unfortunately it does pretty much nothing for my lashes. I got it on sale and it has been discontinued so no big loss here, I was still at little sad that it didn’t work for me.

20130823-215322.jpg

Catrice Lashes to kill

Another green-toned one is the Catrice Lashes to kill that came in a limited edition. Again I am no big fan of the formula. It just doesn’t give me the ‘oomph’ I am looking for. My lashes just look flimsy with this on.

20130823-215332.jpg

This is one of the reasons why I am so upset that Rimmel pulled out of the German market. I remember when I first started into make up about 13 years ago (shoot me now! i’m ancient) the Extra Super Lash mascara was the first that I loved and repurchased for a while. And then came the waterproof version into my life. I love the results this gives even more than those of the FLE, AND it is easier to remove. I hate that I have to order this online now if I run out. This was a staple that I may have to kiss good bye long term.

20130823-214927.jpg

essence get big lashes waterproof

Here we go with the first impressions: The result the get big lashes wp gives is quite feathery and flared which I like. It is a great option to have in my stash. It holds the curl. Even though I like the result it is not quite what I had in mind when I read get BIG lashes. I know essence is aimed at younger girls but they had way more dramatic mascaras in their range, and this is just not dramatic at all. We’ll see how this goes.

20130823-214947.jpg
Same issues I had with the waterproof version. It’s nice but not quite the big lash result I thought it would be. It is black, holds the curl but it is still quite natural. I will use this up but it doesn’t seem to be something special.
20130823-214907.jpg
And this is my make up remover of choice at the moment. The Hydra Active 3 Skin Perfecting Rich Cleansing Milk removes all of my make up in one go including the FLE and other waterproof mascaras without drying out or irritating my skin. I love this!
Round Up:
Loves: Max Factor 2000 Calorie, False Lash Effect Waterproof, essence multi action, Rimmel Extra Super Lash Waterproof
Hates: essence multi action blackest black, all eyes on me,
The rest is somewhere in the middle.
Maybe this helped some of you, maybe you had at least a good time reading this, I had fun creating this post🙂
What are your favorite mascaras, is there one you think I should try out?
Have lovely week end!

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Mascara Addict: 10 Reviews and 2 First Impressions

Leave a Reply

