The Fall Edit: Red Lips, Nude Eyes (+Mini Review)

After turning a spotlight on eyes for the past weeks I thought I’d shift the focus to lips this time around. The plan was to create a as-flawless-as-possible base, very lightly enhance the eyes and make the lips stand out. Here is the result:

 

Photo 13-10-2013 10 50 10

The most important product here was the Astor Soft Sensation Lipcolor Butter in 016 Va Va Voum. I can’t rave enough about this line. Astor added these lipstick/lipbalm combos, so reminiscent of the Revlon Colorburst Lipbutters and the Clinique Chubby Sticks, a couple of months ago to their line up and they truly are a thing of beauty. The color range goes from creamy nudes to pinks and corals to purples and reds. I own a nude, a pink and, well, Va Va Voum. The lipbutters are highly moisturizing and yield fairly opaque color with nice shine (and that’s coming from someone who hates lipgloss and prefers matte lipsticks over everything else). They  have a lovely vanilla-sugar smell to them which is not perceptible anymore on the lips. They are priced around 6€ depending on where you go.

The lovely thing about these is aside from all the other goodness that they leave a stain on your lips after the gloss has disappeared.  Below you can see the stain.

Photo 13-10-2013 10 47 28

As for the rest of my face I used Nougat (light creamy shade) and Bark (neutral brown) from my Sleek Au Naturale palette on my eyes and gave my lashes a generous coat of the Catrice Evolution to Revolution Mascara. On my cheeks I applied MAC’s The Perfect Cheek, a light, slightly greyed matte pink from the MACxMarilyn Monroe collection.

Photo 14-10-2013 13 19 05

4 thoughts on “The Fall Edit: Red Lips, Nude Eyes (+Mini Review)

    • yay! i’m glad you like it🙂 ever since i got them i barely used anything else! so cool that you’re about to hop across the channel🙂 enjoy europe while you’re here!

  1. Pingback: Nell’s Fall Edit: My Ultimate Fall Color | sisterhood of the travelling nailpolish

  2. Pingback: Blogmas Day #4: My Favorite Red Lipsticks | Carpe Noctem

Leave a Reply

