Sunday Round Up #1: What I’ve been up to this week

I don’t even know where to begin. School started two weeks ago and I still don’t know how to balance it with life and work. I feel like everybody is pulling at me and I am stretched so very thin.

True to form I tried to make the best of it and failed miserably most of the time.

Image

anti clockwise: fave music, TEA!, amazon haul, back to henry, fave eye combo, books of the week

As per usual the only thing to preserve my sanity is to immerse myself in music, books and dvds that make me happy and let me forget the mess of the day temporarily (escapeism deluxe!)

Over the week I had a massive amazon haul coming in, some of it was preordered, the rest the result of a nightly slip up. I will do a haul post on this when I have my issues with amazon resolved and the last item is in.

Book-wise this week was split between Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness and  Allegiant by Veronica Roth which finally came out this week (another ginormous amazon f*ck up, but more on that in the haul post). I’ve been flying through Allegiant every spare minute of the week and I will probably finish it tonight. I am sad to see the series go, it is definitely one of my favorites.

Deborah Harkness never ceases to amaze me. I love Shadow of Night but given it’s complexity I just can’t inhale it the way I am inhaling Allegiant at the moment.

Sticking with the Early Modern/Tudor theme of both my seminars in college and Shadow of Night I was irresistably driven back into the arm of Henry and the Tudors. I launched another re-watch, I can’t seem to get enough. As you probably have seen in the haul pic above I have the final season Borgias sitting here too but I am actually terrified to watch it, I know the end will break my heart for the simple reason that it wasn’t supposed to be the end. My Veronica Mars peeps will know what I am talking about (even though we have our very own happy ending now).

About two weeks ago a sale introduced Mumford&Sons’ Babel to my iMusic app and I haven’t looked back since. It is just the perfect mix of raw, energetic, sad and powerful. By now I have also picked up Sigh No More and man, they just can’t write a song I don’t like. Brilliant.

It is the winter term and fall is in full swing around my house. This leads to me not leaving the house without steaming hot tea in a thermal mug in my hands. My favorite for the mornings has been Teekanne Chinese Sencha with Apple and Elder Blossom. Instead of honey I use apple juice to sweeten it and I just can’t get enough. In the afternoon I tend to opt for a variety of caffeine-free fruit infusions. Yum!

And for the make up lovers among us you can find the eye combo I’ve been wearing all week in the pic above: Catrice specteculART Pure Chrome shadow in C01 So Precious (jelly powder texture, green gold, so smooth and pretty!) all over the lid and blended through the crease with Max Factor Liquid Effect Pencil in Brown Blaze as a flicked half line and lightly blended underneath the eye. If I get a chance to snap pics next week I’ll write you a longer blogpost about it if you like.

I’m sorry I have nothing more fun for you! I hope you’re all having a lovely week end!

Leave a Reply

