Media Update: Amazon Haul and a Rant

October was a good month for me in terms of releases of long awaited books and dvds but when my payday rolled around I went a little crazy amazon.co.uk in addition of what I already had pre-ordered months ago, so here is what I bought:

 

Photo 23-10-2013 18 41 46

Amazon Haul Part 1

The Borgias Season 3
If you’ve been following this blog you may know how obsessed I am with The Tudors, now, after Tudors ended SHO greenlit The Borgias. The Borgias like the title suggests centers around the Borgia family, the illegitimate family of Cardinal Rodrigo Borgia (Jeremy Irons) who in the course of the first season becomes Pope Alexander VI. With him to the Vatican he brings his sons Cesare (Francois Arnaud), a bishop and cardinal who later will become the first and last cardinal to this date who returned the crimson robes to become a secular lord, Juan (David Oakes), who is supposed to lead the papal armies and the youngest Gioffre (Aidan Alexander), who after he was married off in the first season never played a role again (as far as I know). Probably the best known member of the Borgia family is Lucrezia (Holliday Grainger), Rodrigo’s daughter whom he uses as a pawn in his game of power. Rodrigo also brings with him the mother of his four children Vanozza Cattaneo (Joanne Whalley) and his new mistress Giulia Farnese (Lotte Verbeek). This patch work family setting plus a devious college of cardinals and the ongoing political struggles in a not yet united Italy create the somewhat explosive backdrop to this family saga. I just love period pieces, LUUURVE them! The costumes, the sets, the music, that along with a great cast and great writing makes for something I keep on re-watching. I’m so glad the dvds finally came out here.

Blood Creek
My horror movie of choice for Halloween. Henry Cavill starrs as paramedic Evan in an American smalltown whose veteran brother Victor (Dominic Purcell) has gone missing two years ago but magically arrives on his doorstep demanding that they load the guns in the pick up truck and go on to hunt down the people who held him captive. Once on the conveniently creepy farm they discover that they are dealing with a Nazi freak (Michael Fassbender) whose dabbling into the occult has turned him into an immortal, to the core evil creature that can also call other dead creatures back from the dead. Blood, gore, strong language, creepy zombies. I liked it. (Yeah, I’m weird)

Immortals
Shirtless, Greek demi-god Henry Cavill. Need I say more? I know a lot of people thought the movie was horrible. I believe, if you move away from seeing this a repropduction of the Theseus myth and look at it as an artsy compilation of different styles, different ways of storytelling it becomes quite interesting. Visually the movie is fascinating, the sets look like fancy theater sets most of the time actually that is what I settled for I see this as kind of a fancy theater production. The one thing I know for sure is that I need to watch this again, maybe one day I can make sense of what Tarsem Singh was trying to tell us with this.
Storywise this is loosely based on the Theseus myth in which Theseus (Henry Cavill) has to kill the evil king Hyperion (Mickey Rourke) who is on the hunt for a magic weapon that would allow him to set free the Titans and control the world. Sprinkle in a group of Greek gods, a not so virgin oracle and you’re good.

Cold Light of Day
Henry Cavill’s Will has to save his family from a government plot and barely succeeds. Man, this story has plot holes so big you can hide an SUV in there. But it has car chases, a running Henry, Sigourney Weaver and Bruce Willis. So there.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth
All good things come to an end. And so did the Divergent Trilogy with Allegiant. In the last installment Tris and Four have to face new fears and challenges to overcome their dystopian world to make it a better one. I loved the series from the beginning. Tris is the strongest female character I have ever read in a YA book. She errs, admits errors and grows with them. With every book we peel back more of the layers that make her so special. Four is the ink and paper incarnation of my perfect man, not too soft not too tough and always finds the right words. Yes, I am being evasive on the story just because I don’t want to ruin it for anybody who still wants to read it. I cannot recommend it enough. If you like YA in dystopian settings this is for you.

Man of Steel
After Greek demi-god here goes Kryptonian god in a bloody suit I can’t bloody stop staring at. -.- Do you sense a pattern by now? I enjoyed this movie. The story of the little boy who can’t help but use his unusual strength to help people, who later as an adult has to run and hide after he was a discovered again and again. Who has to come to terms with who he is and what he wants after General Zod threatens to take away everything he loves and more. It is another Superman adaptation after all and admittedly I only watched because of Henry Cavill but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Visually it was beautiful, it was beautifully told and had good performances of everyone involved. This is definitely a movie I will come back to time and time again. Though I am not particularly psyched for Batfleck I can’t wait to see Henry’s Clark Kent again.

 

Photo 03-11-2013 15 34 35

Amazon Hail Part 2

Sidenote: While amazon.co.uk worked flawlessly and got all my items to me even before the estimated delivery date amazon.de effed things up real good. I am a prime customer on amazon.de which means I pay extra money for express delivery, plus they guarantee that pre-ordered items will arrive on the release date. Um yeah. They didn’t. Allegiant was two days late, Man of Steel was 4 days late and it was shipped via snail mail. At this point I don’t even know what I am a prime customer for, they take my money and ship things the cheapest way possible. I have the Pacific Rim dvd preordered and I am fairly certain I will go through the same sh*t with that again. I am actually pondering to just withdraw the order and buy it instore on the release date. Rant over.

Leave a Reply

