Blogmas Day #4: My Favorite Red Lipsticks

My plan for today was to show you my favorite red lipsticks. Then the lighting was shit (there is no nicer way to say that) and then I realized that my favorite reds tend to be limited edition which is no good should you fall for one and really want to buy it -.-

Now, I hope you don’t mind but Igot the favorite reds down from 10 to 5 and 4 of them are definitely still available and drugstore and the third one is MAC, will be back in stores soon AND it has a very close dupe in the standard range, so I consider it still available.

Due to the lack of good lighting (I feel like we never properly moved past dawn today and then immediately on to dusk again) there will be no lipswatches for now, but I will add them tomorrow, when the lighting will hopefully be better!

Let’s hit it, Ladies and Gentlemen!

l.t.r.: Kate Moss 107, Rimmel Berry Queen, Astor Va Va Voum, MAC RiRi Woo, Maybelline Hollywood Red

l.t.r.: Kate Moss 107, Rimmel Berry Queen, Astor Va Va Voum, MAC RiRi Woo, Maybelline Hollywood Red

Photo 04-12-2013 21 51 38

as above: Kate Moss 107, Rimmel Berry Queen, Astor Va Va Voum, MAC RiRi Woo, Maybelline Hollywood

1. Maybelline ColorSensational 540 Hollywood Red
My most worn everyday-red. It is a muted blue-red, it’s almost like a purple. The formula is quite creamy and moisturizing. The color has a light sheerness to it, before swatching it on the back of my hand I was not aware how much the lipstick was actually working with the natural redness of my lips.

2. MAC RiRi Woo
My favorite ever matte. And this is MATTE. This is more like  a lipPOWDER than a lipstick. And it stays on through everything! I personally never had any problems with it being too drying on my lips on me it neither moisturizes nor dries my lips out. If you look up Temptalias comparison post on RiRi Woo und Ruby Woo you can see that the two are almost identical, they are both a beautiful blue-red that will work with many complexions. Ruby Woo is in the standard range and RiRi Woo is set to come back in a holiday collection soon, if I am informed correctly.

3. Astor Soft Sensation Lip Color Butter 016 Va Va Voum
Ooooh, how I love these *__* The Astor lipbutters are some of the best the drugstore has to offer and for relatively small money, too. The formula of these is soft and creamy without being slippery, they are highly moisturizing and have loveliest sheer but very pigmented glossy finish. After a while the gloss wears off and a nice stain remains. Compared to the others this is neutral to slightly warm red but bear in mind that this will work with the natural redness of your lips, too. I wore Va Va Voum here.

4. Rimmel Moisture Renew 400 Berry Queen
This is in the old packaging but correct me if I’m wrong Rimmel kept the old colors in addition to the new ones? Berry Queen is blue red in the same opacity as Hollywood Red that I mentioned above. The formula is super buttery and moisturizing an absolute winter staple.

5. Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss 107
You knew this one would pop up didn’t you. Sorry for bringing it up again but it is so worth the hype! It is my most worn deep dark red, it is SO pretty. It has a considerable amount of blue to it and is very opaque. For a matte it is very comfortable to wear, one swipe and you’re done for the next 5 or 6 hours. Absolutely fab!

I wear my reds with the Lisa Eldridge technique  minus the lipliner by the way: I apply one coat, blot with a tissue and apply a second coat. It really prolonged the wear-time for me. I also found that if I start applying the lipstick from the corners of my mouth on my top lip it makes the application a lot more precise and I don’t end up with lipstick all over my face!

Do you have favorite reds?

P.S. On a lighter note: I wore the eye make up I showed you on sunday to work today (I usually don’t wear make up to work but today I had class before work) and my boss saw me and went ‘Oh my God, what happened to your eyes did someone hit you?’ When I started giggling, he realized that it was only make up xD.
I really like my boss. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blogmas Day #4: My Favorite Red Lipsticks

  1. I love them all! I too have Rimmel Berry Queen. Looking at the swatches I’d say the Kate Moss lipstick would be my favourite.
    The Astor lipbutters sound fantastic. I hope to pick some up next time I’m on the continent.

  2. i’m obsessed with the kate moss lipstick -.- if you can’t find/get the astor lip butters for some reason while you’re here, I could send one (or how many ever you like 😀 ) your way 🙂

Leave a Reply

