Blogmas Day #8: Sunday Round Up #7

Hello my lovelies!

It’s Sunday Round Up-time again. So what have I been up to this week? Well, I’ve been blogging every single day, and it went surprisingly well. I didn’t miss a day, for starters. Yay me😀 Constructive criticism is always welcome, so feel free to talk to me, I love interacting with you!

Photo 09-12-2013 00 22 35

The weather was absolutely miserable this week, cold and grey. For days now it seems we never made it past dawn. To get a splash of color back into my life, I broke out my bright yellow bag and my pinky-fuchsia Catrice lip balm/stain. It’s really a terriffic color, which I usually never ever wear but really should more often. It was from a limited edition this summer, but pinks like this should be quite dupable.

Photo 09-12-2013 00 33 23

I also started a new book this week. It is Scherbenmond by Bettina Belitz. This is a proper German one (by that I mean it was originally written in German as opposed to being translated). I usually steer clear of translated ones, because if the translation is bad it can completely alter the message of a book. Be that as it may, Scherbenmond (word by word translation: shard moon) is book two of a trilogy, that began with Splitterherz (word by word: splinter heart. Trust me it sounds a lot more poetic in German :D). Splitterherz is one of the most beautifully atmospheric books I have ever read in my life. The best way to read it, is to pop in the New Moon score (you can say what you want about the books [I hated them, sorry, unpopular opinion] but the movies were okay and the score and soundtracks were brilliant!), snuggle up and just let go, let it pull you in, you won’t regret it. The trilogy is set in Germany and evolves around specters that feed off of people’s dreams, sucking the life from them. If you are reminded of vampires, yeah, I was too. But the lore that Belitz provides and the characters are so rich and loveable, that you move away from the vampire trail pretty quickly.
I am some 130 pages into Scherbenmond right now, and as happy as I am to have Ellie back (one heck of  a main character! Sweet, smart and even though she is a bit weepy for my liking at the moment, she is quite tough in her own way), as much trouble I have to get back into the book. Maybe it is just a little early but I just don’t know where Bettina Belitz is headed with the book. I can’t wait to get back into it though, after I put this post online🙂.

Watching The Fast and the Furious again last night was not a good thing. It is pretty silly but Paul Walker’s death has hit me hard. I always liked him, from his interviews he seemed like a really stand up guy and now he is gone. Leaving behind a 15-year-old daughter. Why?
The first anniversary of my grandpa’s death is coming up, too and for some reason I think these two coincide and just bring back all the pain I felt when my grandpa died. My head knows that for my grandpa it was probably better this way. He was an old sick man, who deserved to rest, hopefully with my sister and his sisters and parents and friends that he lost, but my heart just hurts. I miss him. Not everyday anymore, but a lot.

Photo 09-12-2013 00 22 10

On a lighter note: I have new hair toys to play with.
A new 25mm curling wand from BaByliss/Jean Louis David, which I couldn’t seem to master today. curled my hair on the 170° and 185° (C) heat setting, came home from church, ends frazzled and dry from the heat, hair pin straight, despite using Elnett 3 day curls heat protectant -.- Will have to try again, after I nursed my ends back to normal.
Speaking of which: I picked up the got2b öl (oil)-la-la spray on sale this week. It is basically argan oil in spray form with an amazing scent. I spritzed this and my heavy-duty oil leave-in conditioner on my ends and they are almost back to normal. Almost. I spritzed Oil-la-la on my curls as well, maybe that was the reason they fell out right away. We’ll have to see.

 

That was a bit of a rollercoaster ride, wasn’t it? Anyways, I hope you all had a good week and an even better weekend and now lets move on into another happy productive new week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

