Blogmas Day #12: My favorite Christmas Polishes (+a Rant and Shameless Self-Promotion ;) )

Hey everyone, how was your day?
My iPhone charger is about to give up it’s ghost and it freaks me out! Hopefully I get off of work early enough tomorrow that I can still pop into the store of my provider, hopefully they will exchange it, if not I’ll have to buy a new one -.- What really pisses me off about it is that I’ve had my new phone for less then five months and I really didn’t do anything drastic to the charger. Either way, fact is that I need a new one before I’m going on the 3 hour journey to Munderoon on saturday 😦 My earpods have been lasting over a year now, but a CHARGER is crapping out after less than half a year? Unbelievable!

Rant over! Let’s get to something a little nicer.

When I planned the schedule for blogmas 3 weeks ago, I had to include a nail post even though most of you will know by now that Snowhoney, Munderoon and I have a seperate blog for that.

As of yesterday this post that I’ve been wanting to do coincides with a christmas series that we have planned for the other blog. I decided to show you my 5 favorite polishes for the holidays + 3 toppers on here anyways. When it comes to swatches though, I  will have to ask you to be patient with me, they will be up over the next few weeks on the Sisterhood-blog as NotD’s.

Photo 12-12-2013 22 50 25

 

All of the above should be still available even if as a dupe or in new packaging:

The first polish on the left was actually from an essence limited edition but Catrice carries a dupe now. It is a lovely purple glassfleck, opaque in two coats and it looks especially nice with a thick gel-like topcoat.

The next in line is a polish that is currently making the rounds on all the blogs and vlogs and with every right! It is essie’s Sable Collar from the Shearling Darling collection. It should still be available on essie counters, I believe Temptalia even lists it as permanent. Sable Collar is a pretty maroon shimmer with a greyish cast that give it a glow from within finish. I can’t stop staring at my nails at the moment! It was opaque in two coats.

Next is a polish that is still available, but with a different name and slightly different packaging. p2’s 221 charismatic is my perfect christmas-red shimmer. I have the old formula but I saw it yesterday in the new packaging at the counter. I’m fairly certain I am going to wear this on christmas eve.

Aaand here we have another essence polish. This one is from the color&go line and there is actually already a NotD on the blog. This beautiful neutral to slightly cool gold goes by the name 140 go bold!. It is opaque in 2 coats and all around festive.

Last but not least another p2 Color Victim polish and here you can see the new packaging. It is the number 830 perfectly good and I already wore this in an NotD as well. It is a pretty deep green cream without any turquoise tendencies to it.

You can tell that I like quite conservative colors for christmas but I’m afraid that’s how I like my christmas in general: very traditional. If you are interested I could write you a post about our christmas traditions.

BUT I do like to give those traditional colors a slight twist so here are my favorite top coats:

Photo 12-12-2013 22 51 00

 

I love me my crackles! I have a red cream one from yet another essence collection, which I like to wear over gold and the golden one from the same collection I like to wear over red. Or green. I might even like it over Sable Collar. Hmmmm. Crackles I tell ya!

The polish in the middle is by German indie brand Kosmetik Kosmo and is one of the most fiery holo top coats I have ever seen! I want to try this over green and I already know I will wear this as a gradient over either a black or dark blue for new year’s eve!

Do you already know what to wear for new year’s? What are your favorite colors of the moment?

Leave a Reply

