Beauty Awards 2013

I know, I know. It’s sunday. Sunday means Sunday Round Up. Well, not this week. The new year is just about 5 days old and since everybody and their mother are doing a best of 2013 I thought I’d do one too. The title of this post is heavily inspired by Essie from Essiebutton who did a 2013 Make Up Awards type thing on her youTube –> watch here (it’s in English), and one of the 2013 awards definitely goes to her, because I just loved watching her all year long. She has the coolest, sweetest personality and I just watched all of her videos the second I found out she had a new one in my sub-box.

Now let’s dig into the products I put together:

Bodycare:

Photo 05-11-2013 22 32 39

My favorite body care item of the year was my Balea Soft Oil Balm. Nothing keeps my skin as soft and healthy looking as this guy, plus with 1.75€ per bottle it is really affordable.

Skincare:

Photo 05-11-2013 22 30 43

My life saver or ‘face-saver’ this year was La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (Euro version). It calms down the redness, helps my blemishes to heal quicker and really uncloggs and smoothes over everything.

Haircare:

Photo 05-01-2014 23 20 46

L’Oréal’s EverPure range definitely takes the cake here. At the moment I am using the moisturizing shampoo, moisturizing conditioner, volumizing conditioner and the deep conditioning mask. They work wonders for my hair, keeping my color treated, heat-stressed strands soft, shiny and healthy. Plus the scent is just the best thing ever for my nose. If I could have that in a perfume or a fabric softner I would totally go for it.

Decorative:

Base:

Photo 05-01-2014 23 00 23

Most worn foundation of the year was definitely MAC’s Studio Fix Fluid in NW10. It is a medium to full coverage foundation, a little goes a long way, it doesn’t oxidize too much, it doesn’t break me out and it makes my skin look very flawless. I don’t wear too much concealer but if I do it is the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer in 1 Fair. I didn’t really have a favorite powder this year, I’ve just been using stuff up, which will continue a little while into the new year. My favorite contour was Catrice Hip Trip Hydrating Bronzer. It is not too orange, it’s not too dark and it reminds me a lot of Harmony by MAC.

Eyes:

Photo 20-12-2013 20 01 27

Photo 05-01-2014 23 01 38

Favorite eyshadow base/cream shadow is my Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 h in Pink Gold/Inked in Pink. I wear this when ever I wear eyeshadow. It doesn’t crease, it lasts a very long time and keeps everything safely in place.
Favorite powder eyeshadow this year is one that I haven’t even featured yet on this blog: It is MAC Vex. Vex is a lovely dove grey with a slight pink and green shift to it. It is my go-to color on days where I don’t want to or can’t spend too much time on my make up. This, some black liner and a ton of mascara and you’re good to go.
While we’re at it, favorite liners this year were Max Factor Color X-pert waterproof  liquid liner and MAC Feline Kohl Power pencil. The award for favorite mascara goes to Max Factor 2000 Calorie. Super black, volumizing, and holds a curl without being waterproof = perfection.

Lips:

Photo 20-12-2013 20 21 09

Photo 05-01-2014 23 03 18

Favorite Lipstick,… do I really have to say it? Yeah, sorry! Rimmel Kate Moss 107. Honorable mention goes to the fabulous Astor Lip Butters! Especially the nude one (name has rubbed off, hate when that happens) is a staple for me whenever I have dry lips or don’t know what else to wear. They are super moisturizing, have a lovely sheen and an even nicer color pay off. Generally 2013 has been the year of the colored lip for me. All the years before I preferred nude because it was the easier and safer way and this year I was finally brave enough to go all out. Reds, pinks, wine colors it was all there and I am glad, because it gives me more room to play.

What were your faves 2013?

Leave a Reply

