[Project Clean Up]: The Ones That Get to Stay Pt. 1 Rimmel and MAC + Swatches

Like I said in my previous post there are certain lipsticks that get to stay in my collection no matter what and I thought I’d show you the first batch.

My Rimmel lipstick collection (from the left): Moisture Renew 180 Vintage Pink, 400 Berry Queen, 630 Coral Britannia; Lasting Finish 070 Airy Fairy; Lasting Finish by Kate Moss 16, 26, 107

My Rimmel lipstick collection (from the left): Moisture Renew 180 Vintage Pink, 400 Berry Queen, 630 Coral Britannia; Lasting Finish 070 Airy Fairy; Lasting Finish by Kate Moss 16, 26, 107

The first round of lipsticks that get to stay is my Rimmel collection. For one Rimmel produces some of my favorite lipstick formulas. The Moisture Renews are a couple of the best lipsticks I ever had: opaque color, heavily moisturizing, non sticky, not too thick, they don’t feather and they last very long on my lips for how moisturizing they are. The only original Lasting Finish lipstick I have is 070 Airy Fairy, which is a beautiful everyday color. Like the name suggests it lasts very well without drying out my lips at all. From the Kate Moss collection I have 16 a gorgeous peachy pink, which will be one of my go to colors when the weather gets warmer (then again, we barely made it below zero this winter, outside it is about 7°C right now -.- ) 26 is a nude I am a little bit on the fence about, last time I wore it it looked a bit yellow on me but that may have been the foundation. About the lipstick on the very right I don’t have to say anything anymore, right?😀
Below I swatched them all for you. For reference I am a neutral NW10 in MAC terms.

from the left: 180 Vintage Pink, 400 Berry Queen, 630 Coral Britannia, 070 Airy Fairy, 16, 26, 107

from the left: 180 Vintage Pink, 400 Berry Queen, 630 Coral Britannia, 070 Airy Fairy, 16, 26, 107

The next batch that gets to stay is my MAC collection. I have a very emotional attachment to my MAC lipsticks (all of my MAC things really). Everything I buy from MAC I have researched carefully, I wouldn’t buy anything that gets less than a B+ on Temptalia. Frankly it makes me a little nauseous that I have roughly 160€ worth of lipstick sitting next to me right now in MAC alone. I accumulated those very slowly and carefully and I wouldn’t want to miss a single one of them.

from the left: Naturally Eccentric, Creme d'Nude, Myth, Double Spin, Red Racer, RiRi Woo, Deeply Adored, Dark Deed

from the left: Naturally Eccentric (L), Creme d’Nude (CS), Myth (S), Double Spin (CS), Red Racer (S), RiRi Woo (RM), Deeply Adored (M), Dark Deed (A)

Can you guess which one is my favorite? Creme d’Nude is almost gone and it is one of the very few lipsticks that I am sure I will use up and repurchase at some point. Whenever I don’t know what to wear I whack on Creme d’Nude and I’m done, it’s just perfect! MAC does the best nudes and I’m sure they have the right one for every skin tone. MAC lipsticks are on the pricier side but I find they are well worth it. You may know that MAC has different finishes in their eyeshadows as well as in their lipsticks. Naturally Eccentric is a Lustre which means it is semi opaque and melts beautifully into the lips, it has a bit of a sheen.
Creme d’Nude and Double Spin are Cremesheens, they are opaque with a creamy sheen (d’uh). Myth and Red Racer are Satin finishes. They are opaque in one coat and semi matte. Myth is a bit difficult to work with but Red Racer is one of my all time favorite reds, it’s so nice and easy to wear because the semi matte Satin finish just stays put all day. Deeply Adored is a Matte and MAC are just doing matte right: Creamy and moisturizing and matte but not flat (tips hat to essiebutton). Deeply Adored is so easy to wear. If you want really powdery matte I suggest you go for the Retro Matte. They are pretty much a cream to powder formula and I know a lot of people have troubly with them drying out but on me they don’t moisturize but they don’t dry me out either, which is good because RiRi Woo is such a beaut! The only finish I really struggle with is Amplified which is what Dark Deed is. Amplified is Cremesheen on steroids, super sheeny and a wee bit slippery at least on me. Whenever I wear Dark Deed (as much as I love it) I’m always scared I’m going to smear it all across my face.
You may have noticed from the packaging that most of these are limited edition. If you fancy one of the colors I would keep my eyes open, most of them come back one way or another.

from the left: Naturally Eccentric, Creme d'Nude, Myth, Double Spin, Red Racer, RiRi Woo, Deeply Adored, Dark Deed

from the left: Naturally Eccentric, Creme d’Nude, Myth, Double Spin, Red Racer, RiRi Woo, Deeply Adored, Dark Deed

It’s kinda creepy how close Naturally Eccentric and Double Spin are to my skin tone, no?

Do you have any lipsticks that you couldn’t live without and would run out to repurchase once they run out?

Hope you are all having a lovely time wherever you are in your day! Read y’all soon!

 

Leave a Reply

