Sunday Round Up #16

Photo 16-03-2014 22 11 10

What a week this was! I don’t even know where to begin, I had so many wonderful things coming my way both material and things that really touched my soul. In a way this Sunday Round Up is a list of things I am grateful for.

My job(s):
At the beginning of the week the boy I tutor basically told me he enjoys working with me, and that makes me so happy! If his exam turns out better than the one before on top of that I will be over the moon! He is a great guy with a great mind but his orthography escapes him sometimes a little bit. It was a bit scary at first but now it seems to work out fine. I sincerely hope it stays that way.
Later this week I returned to one of the stores I helped out at over the summer. That earned me money and a big hug from the one store manager and I got told off semi-seriously for not having heard the other one saying hello to me. It was so nice to come back to people who seem to genuinely like me. I feel really blessed about that.

I’m not telling you that to show off. From all those years of being bullied I am still surprised when people actually like me and accept me the way I am. I am not used to that. And it makes me beyond happy when someone does like me. Just like that.

Veronica Mars:
The Veronica Mars movie came out this thursday in Germany in a limited number of theater across the country. One of those theaters was in my hometown and my fabulous Snowhoney came home from work early to go directly to the theater with me and watch the movie on opening night. I had so much fun. The film was a total marshmallow (Veronica Mars fan)-pleaser. If you know the show, there were so many little things that made it special, but I think it is easy to understand for people who don’t know the series as well. My theater here in Germany was far from being sold out but it was fuller than I expected it to be. In the US the movie made the Box Office Top 10 (despite being released to only a limited number of theaters there as well, way to go US marshmallows!) and was sold out in places. If you like sassy blondes, murder mysteries, high school reunion type movies, great father daughter teams, epic love stories or any combination thereof  I can only urge you from the bottom of my heart to go see the movie, I know you will enjoy it!
I have a bit of a bone to pick with iTunes Germany, though. We were promised a worldwide release for the download version for friday. It seems to have worked everywhere but in Germany. I still can’t download the movie. I met with my best friends on saturday hoping to be able to share the experience of watching the movie with them (again). Imagine how upset I was when I couldn’t. I can only hope that the movie will be released as soon as possible (as there is no indicator by iTunes when it will become available). I really want to watch the movie again and I really want to watch it with my friends. It would make my day if I could get it on monday (hint hint).

Subway to Sally- MitGift:
Another exciting release this week was Subway to Sally’s new album MitGift  (play on the German word for dowry which can also be devided to spell ‘with poison’. German is a weird language sometimes. Or strangely accurate. Who knows.)- Mördergeschichten (murderer stories). The title is rather apt since it is a concept album in which every song is inspired by famous murder cases and old legends (like the cruel sister- legend) I won’t go into detail for every song that would go beyond the scope of this post. Suffice to say that all of the songs are everything that makes Subway to Sally for me only darker and better. Music-wise every single song is headbang-ready with a hardcore baseline, heavy drums and some electronic elements here and there. But the lyrics are still as beautiful as ever and the melodic parts have stolen my heart. Some of them are so gentle and heart wrenching that they seem to be the only thing that keeps the thrumming base and drums at bay,  keep them from swallowing you whole and dragging you down into the darkness. I love this album, not with the usual bright burning excitement, this time it is a dark flame but one that will keep on burning for a very long time. This album comes even closer to my all time favorite Engelskrieger (Angel Warrior) than Schwarz in Schwarz (Black in Black) did two years ago.

Make Up:
This week wasn’t much of a make up week at all. I am still testing mascaras for the next chapter of Confessions of a Mascara Addict. Snowhoney picked up the new L’Oréal Miss Manga Mega Volume mascara for me and it is awesome for a non-waterproof mascara. I also went back to my Catrice All Matt Plus that seemed to break me out last time I wore it. We’ll see if it does it again, or if it was something else.

Books and TV Shows:
In this particular case this week was a bit of a lost week. I started watching Vikings again, but was so distraught and distracted that I couldn’t really enjoy it. I was also too jumpy to read a book. I started to read Sons and Lovers (D.H. Lawrence) again in preparation for my thesis but I gave up after taking over an hour for one page. I just couldn’t concentrate. I will try very hard to do better this week. In fact I will HAVE to do better this week as I have a deadline in about 15 days and I am not nearly as prepared as I should be.

NFL Free Agency:
Wanna know why I was so distraught? Yep, free agency started last tuesday. For non- Americans like me who have not grown up with it: Free agency means that all the football players whose contracts are up at the end of the season are now on the open market and free to negotiate with any team they like and by extension that also means they can sign with any team they like. I understand this is rather exciting for Americans who have grown up with it and are used to going through this every year. Now try to imagine you are a little German girl who goes through this for the first time, has nothing but a basic idea how this works, is really awful with new situations and change and on top of everything her favorite player is out on the open market as well. And about three times it looked like he was coming close to sign with another team than the one she kinda lost her heart to. I just came off of an anxiety episode and my body was all too ready to go back to those patterns. Since tuesday I have slept only a couple of hours at night and whenever my phone went off I jumped. Last night around 8 (German time) finally the relieve came, where tweets popped up saying that finally my team and my fave player had reached an agreement. (I hope to God it is not another one year one. If it is I will have to personally swim to California and kick his ass, I really can’t go through this mess again next year. *welp)

Post Scriptum:
In order to restore my calm I am now re-watching Friday Night Lights and re-reading The Mists of Avalon for the umpteenth time. Any of the Avalon-series books is always great to give me rest and ease my mind.

This was it from me for you about this week. I hope yours was as bright and shiny as mine (the fact that ‘my’ player re-signed really blots out the mess of the FA 😀 ). Now let’s all check off this week and move on in a productive, anxiety-free new one!

Photo 16-03-2014 22 12 33

Leave a Reply

