Confessions of a Mascara Addict #2: L’Oréal, Manhattan, Catrice and Max Factor

Finally I got around to photograph the second installment of Confessions of a Mascara Addict. I put 6 new mascaras to the test and here are the results:

 

 

Photo 05-04-2014 16 50 13

Naked Eyes

My lashes are naturally rather straight and stubborn and a little sparse towards the corners. I am looking for a mascara that really holds a curl and emphasizes my corner lashes, makes my lashes in general really black, long and thick.

 

1. L’Oréal Volume Million Lashes

Photo 05-04-2014 16 37 02

Black, rubber brush, gold packaging;  this is almost a classic. I like it a lot. It holds a curl, volumizes and seperate the lashes. You can see one coat, in fact all of the pictures show one coat on my lashes. The wand is a really hard rubber brush that kind of stings when it touches the sensitive upper waterline  and the formula is perceptibly scented. The wand is a weird stumpy shape and really thick, all of those things aside though, it gives a nice result.

 

2. L’Oréal Miss Manga Mega Volume

Photo 05-04-2014 16 36 23

This one I am really impressed with. Super black, holds a curl and gives length and volume. It builds up really nicely. A couple of days ago I just wore two coats of this, some blush and natural lipstick and my lashes were really prominent on my face. Really thick and long and black without being clumpy. This mascara seems to have been received really controversely, some people love it, some people hate it, I count myself safely in the group of people who loves this mascara. The wand has normal bristles, is really big and flexible, it is cut in a conical shape with a sort of wave-profile along the outline. The thicker end really helps to catch the outer lashes.

3.Manhattan Ultimate Long & Curl

Photo 05-04-2014 16 37 44

I used to wear a previous version of this when I was maybe 14 or 15 and fell back in love when I picked this up when it was in offer. The formula seems to have fibres in it, which I quite like but  I know some people don’t. It makes my lashes really thick and long, doesn’t hold the curl that well but it is still pretty great. With this you have to be a bit careful that it doesn’t clump up, but I think as love as you don’t layer coat over coat on, you should be fine. This has a garden-variety mascara wand with normal bristles, if anything it is a little shorter than other brushes.

4. Manhattan X-treme Last WP

Photo 05-04-2014 16 38 13

This gives a very natural result and if you like that, this mascara is your thing. I prefer a little more oomph to my lashes so this is not really my thing. Aside from that it is not a bad product at all. The brush is long, slim and has normal bristles. It tints the lashes nice and black, holds a curl but doesn’t really volumize or lengthen.

 

5. Max Factor Clump Defy WP/ Covergirl Clump Crusher WP

Photo 05-04-2014 16 49 32

This is another one with a very natural result. Thankfully I got that 30% off or I would be really upset  about spending a lot of money on a mascara that I won’t wear or at least won’t wear much. This one really separates the lashes it holds the curl but the lengthening powers are not that great and it is not really volumizing. It has a slightly curved rubber brush, which generally I like but the formula just doesn’t do for me.  I am a little disappointed with this. Again, not a bad product, just not enough oomph for me.

 

6. Catrice Glamour Doll WP

Photo 05-04-2014 16 48 41

Out of the mascaras shown here this is by far my favorite. It lengthens, volumizes, separates and holds the curl until I take it off in the evening. I may have found a holy grail mascara here, plus at 4,45€ this is VERY affordable. I really like the slim long rubber brush, too. It allows me to apply the mascara without smudging it all over my eyelid.

 

Round up:

None of these mascaras irritated or stung my eyes, they are all easily removable with my bebe young care quick&clean cleansing lotion for sensitive skin. The ones that are on power rotation right now are the Glamour Doll and because I try not to use WP mascaras all the time not to dry out my lashes too much I switch it out with the Miss Manga on a regular basis.

 

If you still like to see some more mascara mini reviews you can read the first confessions chapter here.

Leave a Reply

