[Project Clean Up] My Catrice Lipstick Collection (+ Swatches)

Remember way back when I started to declutter my make up? Yeah, I made some progress. I still have too much stuff but for now I have a big ass plastic bag filled with all kinds of make up and skin care that will make it to the wheelie bin soon. Either way I decided to leave my Catrice lipstick collection untouched for now, even though there are a couple of colors that I think will be cut sooner or later. In total I own a whopping 15 Catrice lipsticks and most of them have been discontinued, 5 of them are actually from before the relaunch. If you’d still like to see what I’ve got, right this way please!

Photo 14-04-2014 22 08 40

Let’s begin with some basic information. The lipsticks come in metal tubes. The Ultimate Shines in the silver tube are sheerer and glossier than the more creamy and opaque Ultimate Colors in the black bullet. The Ultimate Shines contain 3.5g /.12oz whereas the Ultimate Colors hold 3.8g/.13oz, they look as if they were the exact same size though. It may just be that the Ultimate Color formula is slightly heavier than the Ultimate Shine formula. Both formulas retail for 3.95€

 

Photo 14-04-2014 21 54 18

l.t.r.: Hollywood’s Fabulous 40’s C04 The Nude Scene, Out of Space C02 Discover Purple Pluto, Revoltaire C01 Colour Bomb, Urban Baroque C01 Marie Antoinette

The first swatches are those of limited edition colors. The Nude Scene and Colour Bomb are mattes, Discover Purple Pluto is multicolored glitter in a sheer purple base and Marie Antoinette is a creamy peachy nude. The formula on all of these is fine. The mattes are not as moisturizing as the other two, which was to be expected. The lasting power is good, better on the mattes than on the other two in this case. Colour Bomb is easily my fave out of those above, it is such a nice almost neon coral, can’t wait to wear this more again as the weather gets nicer.

l.t.r.: It's A Matt World, Hey Nude!, Frozen Rose

l.t.r.: It’s A Matt World, Hey Nude!, Frozen Rose

Above you can see the three regular lipsticks I own of my favorite formula Ultimate Color. It’s A Matt World is a matte orangey- red, think Lady Danger only a little redder. I LOVE this color because on top of being simply gorgeous it is also really creamy and comfortable to wear, you can barely tell it’s a matte lipstick unless you look into the mirror. Hey Nude! is a pinky nude and it is still available. Frozen Rose is a cool pink that I used to wear a lot. Generally the Ultimate Color formula is really creamy and moisturizing, deep colors and mattes naturally last longer than the nudes  and lighter shades, but generally I would say they come in around 4-6 hrs of wear.

l.t.r.: And The Oscar Goes To, Pink Panther, Simply Rosewood.

l.t.r.: And The Oscar Goes To, Pink Panther, Simply Rosewood.

The next batch are all from the Ultimate Shine line. Simply Rosewood is a rosewood color with some gloss and slip to it. This is more of a fall color for me. Pink Panther is a bright Barbie-pink with glitter. Don’t ask me why I bought it, this color is a lot of things but not me. For some reason I can’t part with it though. I’ll try to make it work over the summer. And The Oscar Goes To is the newest of my Catrice lipsticks. It is a purpley berry pink with a borderline metallic sheen to it. I love how this shade works with my skin. The Ultimate Shine lipsticks are glossier and slippier than the Ultimate Colors which means that the wear time is not as long, they just come off easier but again they are really comfortable to wear and not drying at all and despite having glitter in the formula Pink Panther doesn’t feel gritty on the lips.

l.t.r.: Rouge Satin Midnight Red and Spanish Red; Absolute Moisture Soft Coral, Gentle Beige and Gentle Nude

l.t.r.: Rouge Satin Midnight Red and Spanish Red; Absolute Moisture Soft Coral, Gentle Beige and Gentle Nude

These five above are all from before the relaunch. The Rouge Satins are a classic and wine red cream finish and formula. The Absolute Moisture lipsticks are just that really moisturizing with a little more shine and a little sheerer maybe. Soft Coral is a metallic orange coral, Gentle Beige is just that -a beige- but weirdly enough it is my favorite from the Absolute Moistures. It blends really nicely with my natural lip color and gives a very nice creamy nude. Gentle Nude is a rosy pink, a little muted maybe, a very nice your-lips-but-better color. It’s one of those that I definitely need to wear more, especially now where I am a little over the extremely nude lips.

 

If you were looking for good drugstore lipsticks I can recommen those two lines. The Ultimate Shines come in 8, the Ultimate Color come in 16 shades and they range from nudes to brights to darks.

 

2 thoughts on “[Project Clean Up] My Catrice Lipstick Collection (+ Swatches)

  1. I love this post! I did a review on Taylor Swift’s wonderstruck perfume and did a post about ‘comparing yourself to others’ It would mean alot if you could check it out and maybe follow me. You have areally lovely blogkeep up the good work! XXX hatice

Leave a Reply

