Sunday Round Up #22: Tomboy Edition. Football, Metal…

 

Good evening  Ladies (and Gentlemen?),

 

it’s time for a Sunday Round Up again, but first of all can we take a minute and celebrate what an awesome day for tolerance and love we had yesterday? Europe voted voted an Austrian drag queen to be song contest empress for a year, a resounding slap in the face of His Gross Idiocy Putin, and the twelve points from both Ireland and Spain were particularly remarkable (still two of the most catholic countries over here). For once I am actually proud of the lot of us. Also for the booing and whistling whenever anything Russian came  up. I know it must have been hard for the girls representing Russia and the lady reading their points and I am genuinly sorry that they had to suffer on behalf of their dickhead of a president but this was THE time to make it known what we think about Putin’s policies.

On top of that the NFL drafted its first openly gay player in Michael Sam. He made an extremely brave decision in coming out publicly even before the combine and now he gets the chance to compete and prove himself on the field. While I salute his bravery and I am glad that he received so much support from NFL veterans over twitter, etc. I can’t help but be saddened that we still make such a fuss about his sexual orientation. I hope we will soon reach the state where we don’t give a fig anymore about color of skin, religion, income/ education level and sexual orientation of a person.

That being said one last thing: Donald Sterling deserves all the bad things that are coming his way right now. That is all.

Photo 04-05-2014 22 02 28 (1)

screenshot from my phone: Epica~The Quantum Enigma cover

 

Let’s begin with some media shizz, shall we? I warned you, the Epica album would come up again and dear god it is a masterpiece! They went rather complex music-wise this time and every song includes both a choir and an orchestra. Production alone is exceptional on this piece, they managed to make everything sound incredible round and smooth without turning into a wishy washy blurr.
Epica may be the only one of my favorite bands  (whose new albums I already have, still have to wait about two more weeks to get Xandria and Lacuna Coil) who has not gone darker at all, they pretty much remained at their level, they may have even gone a little more positive (shock horror😀 ). Epica have always had strong socio-critical and political messages in their songs, frontlady Simone Simons describes herself as a humanist (philsophical branch that I too subscribe to) and it shows. I am planning on doing a favorite quotes from my favorite songs series soon, because the music of Epica, Delain, Subway to Sally, Xandria, Within Temptation,… is one of the reasons why I am still alive right now. Without them speaking my mind when I couldn’t I wouldn’t have made it through.

Photo 11-05-2014 23 48 08

I am currently finishing the second book in the Sebastian Bergman-series (Hjorth&Rosenfeldt) and I really like it. It is more suspenseful than the first, and it has a lot of psychology in it, centering around a psychologist and all. I can really recommend it if you are into Scandinavian mysteries and some messed up shit. I have the third one already sitting here plus a new Rizzoli and Isles. I love my parrish library❤

TV-wise I took it light this week and marathoned Happy Endings. Too bad it is gone, it was such a lovely comedy, one of the more intelligent ones. Speaking of dead shows, a ton of my favorite shows were cancelled over the last week  (May Madness). Over the last years I had been lucky but this time they got me good: no more Community, no more Suburgatory (those two hurt the most), then a couple of rookie comedies that I really enjoyed (Mixology, Bad Teacher, Enlisted, Surviving Jack) and 1 possibly 2 shows are renewed for a last season (Cougar Town, Hart of Dixie). Bittersweet that. At least Brooklyn Nine-Nine is back.

My girls are spoiling me rotten at a time when I can’t really spoil them back😦 My lovely Munderoon gave me a signed copy of one of the German mystery series that I really like. It is SIGNED! I only have one more signed book and they are so special to me. Not sure where I am going to put it but it is going to be a special place.

Photo 11-05-2014 14 49 15

everyday make up… ’twas a lazy day today

What else is new? Well, nothing much so far. Make up is pretty much still the same stuff in the same combination as last week. I may do an updated skin care and hair care routine but I don’t want to put that here, right now.

I am in the process of getting my life back on track. Slow and steady. I will update you on that, too once I feel like I made sufficient progress.

Next week will see some decisions about my future and I will get to work with people who are writing their thesis right now, too. So loads of school stuff and hopefully 3 +1 days of work. That would be great.

Now let’s all make a tick under this week and move on into a new productive one!

 

Leave a Reply

