Sunday Round Up #23: Roses, Happy Endings and New Beginnings

Good evening Ladies and Gentlemen,

my weekly therapy is in session. How was your week? Mine was stress- but uneventful.

I am still struggling to properly get my regular work and work for the thesis in order, I just can’t focus properly. However, one of the major stress factors and distractions should be sorted as of thursday. Here’s to hoping it will get a little more peaceful around these realms now.

Speaking of the thesis, I sorted out some hiccups and this means, granted I pass my thesis (which I damn well should [if I get my shit together]) there is a seat at my university of choice with my name on it. Near academic future sorted.

As to stressfactors or my symptoms of stress: one is definitely a messy room. If I can’t bring myself to get up and tidy my room it is bad. Insert 5 empty coffee cups on the desk and random clothes on the floor here. BUT [drumroll, please!] today I finally got my room in order again. Including stripping my be, washing all my pillows and turning around the mattress. Boom. Only my desk is still a wee bit messy, but that can wait. Babysteps!

Photo 19-05-2014 00 23 08

Make Up of the Week
And once again I changed up my make up a little bit. This one is inspired by my lack of time and a make up Lisa Eldridge did on Kate Moss I believe. All I do is create a flawless base with my MAC Matchmaster foundation in 1.0 and some concealer (Rimmel Match Perfection in 010 Ivory and Catrice Camouflage in 010 Ivory), then I powder my face and do my brows. Sometimes I apply a brown flicked half-line on my upper lashline with the Max Factor Masterpiece Glide&Define liquid liner in black/brown, then I whack some of my Miss Manga mascara on and contour my cheekbones heavily with the Catrice Hydrating Bronzer from the Hip Trip LE. The star of the show is the essence Guerilla Gardening mat lip cream in 02 floral glam. That thing is almost neon red. It is mega bright and yeah, it stains. It lasts long on the lips before it fades. I love this thing and I’m glad I found it in my stash again. Total showstopper.

Media Stuff
I can’t leave my hands off Sebastian Bergman. I currently started reading book 3 of the series, which apparently hasn’t been released in English yet. Once again, Sebastian is sort of involved with a serial killer case but his connections and relationships with his colleagues are almost as much the center as the case itself. I learned to love the style in which this series is written: A lot of internal stuff about the characters, literally all of them, creates an intense and complete view on the story. It takes some getting used to, but when you’re in it is so rewarding. I really really enjoy this and I can’t wait for the new book to come out.
I am all caught up on Veep (brilliant show) and I finished Happy Endings, man that made me sad😦 It was such a good show!

Art Nouveau and Roses

My sister and I went to the Art Nouveau festival in my hometown by way of the rosarium and damn, I had forgotton how beautiful my city can be. I will have to return to the rosarium in a week or two, at the moment only a few roses are in bloom. If you don’t know what a rosarium is, it is basically a park with roses over roses in it. They have some lillies, fuchsias and geraniums, too, but the roses are the main focus and since I love roses, I really want to move in there. I love tulips, too but they were already withering.

Photo 17-05-2014 20 20 41

Photo 17-05-2014 20 25 11

Photo 17-05-2014 20 10 49

The Art Nouveau festival was spectacular. My hometown is a bit of the capital of Art Nouveau and many of the buildings and fountains and parks have survived the war. During the festival some of the houses and museums are open for visitation and come nightfall everything was illuminated with candles and  lampions and the color of the year was red so everything glowed slightly eerily but heartbreakingly beautiful in red.

Photo 17-05-2014 21 29 05

Photo 17-05-2014 21 30 14

At one of the Art Nouveau houses the garden was open for visitation and seriously, the second this thing is open for visitation again I will be there again. The garden was very carefully created by the artist(s) living in the house and it is a masterpiece of light, water and glass in all its aspects. And despite the many people trekking through it with us it had a very soothing, peaceful atmosphere.

Photo 17-05-2014 21 13 28

Photo 17-05-2014 21 10 59
Photo 17-05-2014 21 06 22That was it for my week, I hope y’all had a good one! And now let’s move on into the new week and be productive and happy and healthy!

 

Leave a Reply

