Haul and First Impressions: MAC Face and Body and more…

Photo 21-05-2014 13 41 10I hinted at it in my recent Sunday Round Ups but yeah, I have put two hellish months behind me and it seems I did well. Off I went to treat myself. Initially I didn’t want to splurge but that 10% off- Douglas Card offer vaulted me over the edge (that and the packaging for the Alluring Aquatics by MAC, I mean, O. M. G. … !!!)

I actually went in to get matched for the MAC Face and Body foundation. Recently my skin has been really great and I was craving a lightweight sheer foundation to get me over the summer and I knew MAC F&B would deliver and on top I knew from reviews that it also lasts very well on the skin. If that doesn’t scream summer I don’t know what does!
I got matched to C1, which is the lightest of the bunch. The Maccine tried N2 and N1 on me, but N2 was too dark and N1 came out too dark and yellow as well (weirdly enough). C1 pretty much hit the nail on the head, though. Generally I have to say I had a great experience at our MAC counter today, she even took me outside so I could look at my face in daylight and she was very nice and helpful.

And then Alluring Aquatic happened. I am a little upset that I didn’t get a lipstick anymore because they were all sold out already but I just HAD to get one thing from the collection because the packaging is the most stunning I have ever seen. Ever. I might actually go back tomorrow and pick one of the nailpolishes up as well (naughty). I was torn between one of the Extra Dimension blushes and one of the Extra Dimension bronzers and after my lovely Maccine swatched both on me I fell for the bronzer. Hard. So in the end and enabled by the 10% off I took it home with me.

Photo 21-05-2014 14 03 45

Look at the packaging with the droplets on it. Look. At. It. Oooooh!

Photo 21-05-2014 14 03 09

And here’s to the first impressions:

Photo 21-05-2014 13 47 30

Naked Face

 

In this picture you can see my bare skin. It is very hot over here today and I am very hormonal, so please do excuse the spots and the redness. I primed my skin by applying the Rival de Loop Hydro Moisturizing Gel, which I also hauled today. I used it underneath my Diadermine day cream because my skin was a bit sore after being cleansed three times in less than 6 hours (morning cleanse, cleansing wipe at MAC and taking the dirt of the city off before applying the new foundation -.-). The gel contains panthenol and duo-hyaluron and it soothed my skin immediately. It is very lightweight and sank in very quickly but it still felt really moisturizing. It also seemed to let my skin absorb my moisturizer better and quicker, I really enjoy it so far.
I also tried the soothing eye cream from the same range because I ran out of my Chanel Hydra Beauty eye gel- sample and I actually think I like the RdL eye cream better. It is even more moisturizing and a little creamier then the Chanel gel (it’s still a gel/cream formula just like the Chanel, though).

Photo 21-05-2014 13 52 36

Just Face and Body

 

You can actually see how the foundation calmed down the redness and evened out my skintone already. I buffed the foundation on with a flat top synthetic kabuki brush. F&B is waterbased, which means it is very liquidy when it comes out of the bottle, but it sets very quickly. It even feels a little bit sticky for a second or two, but really for just that long. On its own the foundation has a very glowy finish without being oily or moving around a lot and it is pretty much undetectable on the skin. It melted into my skin and set and it hasn’t budged until now, despite the hot sultry weather we have today. Granted at this point I only had it on for about 5 hours but I also ran around in the heat already and got sweaty and everything is still in place.

Face and Body and concealer

Face and Body and concealer

I used the Rimmel Match Perfection concealer under my eyes and around my nose and the Catrice Camouflage on any spots (both in 010 Ivory). The concealers melted very nicely into the foundation. Another major point pro Face and Body: I suffer from enlarged pores mainly on my nose (ick-factor right there, sorry) and the F&B blurrs over the pores without sitting in them or otherwise highlighting them. That was my major concern, that it wouldn’t cover my pores well enough but it did.

F&B, concealer, powder

F&B, concealer, powder

I lightly powdered with my essence all about matt powder and a duofiber stipling brush. It didn’t stay matte for long, BUT I also didn’t get overly oily. The foundation just went back to being glowy and skin-like.

Photo 21-05-2014 14 08 42

 

And here is the final look with MAC Alluring Aquatic Extra Dimension Bronzer Aphrodite’s Shell on my cheeks, Max Factor Masterpiece Glide On Liner in black/brown in a half-line and L’Oréal Miss Manga in black on my lashes. I filled in my brows with the Catrice Brow Set.

Aphrodite’s Shell only got a C on Temptalia but mainly because it is such a sheer veil and won’t show up on medium to darker complexions, but on me as the extremely fair dainty doll that I am this bronzer is borderline perfect. It gives me a wash of sunkissed color, melts into my skin and gives almost like a soft focus effect. It doesn’t show up very well on pictures, though. In reality I have this very soft bronzey glow on my cheeks, but my camera won’t cooperate. It looks like I have some splotch of brown color on my cheek, oh well….

To sum this up I am in love with all of my purchases today! It seems I had the Midas touch with all of the things I bought. Keep in mind that this is a first impression not a proper review and a bit of a rave at that. I will keep on wearing everything and see what happens. So far no MAC foundation has broken me out and I sincerely hope it stays that way, same goes for the skin care.
If you are looking for a review of that green polish check back on sisterhoodofthetravellingnailpolish.wordpress.com in the next couple of days, I will get one up there soon.

Do you have any experience with MAC F&B or MAC in general? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

Read y’all on Sunday, have a good one🙂

One thought on “Haul and First Impressions: MAC Face and Body and more…

  1. Pingback: Review: MAC – Face and Body Foundation in C2

Leave a Reply

