Sunday Round Up #25

Good evening ladies and gentlemen,

I am coming up for air really quickly to review my past week with you all. How was yours?
Work continues to be messy and annoying, seriously it is such a nuisance at the moment, but I finally got a grab on the thesis! I should be able to hand in the abstract and outline by mid of next week, yay me😀 Here’s to deadlines!

Photo 01-06-2014 21 31 55

Let’s start with books this week!
Because of the thesis I mainly re-read the book that will be at the center of my thesis, D.H. Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover. In which group were you? Be honest! The one that was like, ‘Err, whaaaa?!’ or the one that was like ‘Oh the one with all the sex!’?
I had to read the book for a seminar a year ago and I fell in love with it. Not because of the sex, but because this book has some elemental things to say when it comes to the destruction of the environment and the relationship between men and women, and I intend to prove that (whilst leaving out the sex, science has focused on that long enough in my opinion). I may not agree with Lawrence in all points but I believe the book still has some relevance almost 100 years after it was first published.

And, uh, this happened:

Photo 30-05-2014 11 40 27

-.-
I didn’t even mean to and then I lost my mind when I saw City of Heavenly Fire look all pretty on its shelf. I have the Walker edition of City of Lost Souls, I am okay with that but if anybody has the McElderry edition and would like to trade, I am up for that because the rest of my Cassandra Clare books are all in the McElderry edition with the lovely foil cover. I have to admit I wasn’t even that keen on reading the rest of the Mortal Instruments series after City of Fallen Angels but now I’ve read the prologue of CoLS and now I’m kinda hooked again. I guess you have to compartmentalize with this one, take the first three as one trilogy and then the last three also as a trilogy of their own. We’ll see if that works for me. Generally I have to say though that I am not too happy that Clare is dragging out the series the way she does. The Infernal Devices was excellent from the beginning to end, the first three Mortal Instruments lost steam throughout the series and I WAS iffy on the fourth.
But for now I am hooked again and we’ll see if it stays like that for me. I can still re-sell them if I don’t like them after all.

 

TV/Movie?
Everything is Sons of Anarchy and nothing hurts. I had a bit of bad sleeping spell and the Sons are great companions for long nights. This show, I can only repeat myself, is messing with your head though. It takes me about five seconds to get back into the outlaw mindset and all of a sudden the police are the bad guys. What I love is the discrepancy between the family life, which is so normal almost conventional compared to the club reality of gun running, pot smoking and drinking oneself into a coma. I wouldn’t last in a club like that for 10 minutes. I still love Sons of Anarchy, though, for the feeling of triumph when the club gets another ‘get out of jail free’-card, for the brotherhood between the members, for the devious and strong women, who don’t mind to ‘be the girls’ as Gemma puts it, and for the fact that in the end there is no black and white but a sea of grey.

 

Pilates? Pilates!
If you have been following me on twitter (which you can do here), you may have seen that I have been tweeting about working out. I have been doing between 30 and 45 minutes of Pilates with some Cardio blasts six days a week for the past roughly 5 weeks now. For the last 4 weeks I have been following blogilates’ ‘beginners calendar’. I didn’t want to talk about it because I thought I might not make it through but I have. I finished the beginners calendar yesterday and as of tomorrow I will try to follow her regular calendar as best as I can. I will make some modifications, though and keep one rest day in. Pilates has very smoothly found its way into my evening routine, I really enjoy working out before going to bed. It helps me to calm down a little bit and just makes me feel good. I may do a proper post on my experience with blogilates. Would you like me to?
I don’t know if I have visibly changed from working out six days a week, after all it was only half an hour, and I see myself in the mirror every day so I don’t really see subtle changes. You would have to ask my friends if they  saw any differences in me. Fact is I feel better and I have become WAY stronger ever since beginning my work outs five weeks ago.

 

Anything else? Nah, not really. My skin breaking out a little bit and I don’t know whether it is just the weather getting warmer, hormones or my RdL moisturizing gel. I seriously hope it is one of the first two and not the last. Either way I have stopped using the gel for now and hope my skin will calm down soon. How I know it is not MAC Face&Body? I haven’t worn that in 5 days, had it been the foundation it would have calmed down by now.

That was it. My week. I am moving forward. Finally! I hope you all are making progress, too wherever you want to make progress!
Here is to the new week. We got this guys, let’s keep on moving! Read you soon!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Round Up #25

    • it seems to have been hormonal, because my break outs went down pretty much over night a couple of days later. i’m still a bit nervous about using the gel again though -.-

Leave a Reply

