Sunday Round Up #26: Summer Edition

It is hot in GER at the moment, not warm but HOT (everything over 30°C is hot in my book).  So this week was mainly spent adjusting to the weather conditions.

Sunscreen
Something I learned the hard way this week was that it is that time of the year again where I can’t go out without sunscreen on: I forgot my daily moisturizer (which has SPF30 ), sat out in the sun for about 90 minutes and went home with a slightly burned face and chest. -.-

Photo 08-06-2014 21 12 58

My favorite brand of sunscreen is Nivea’s protect and bronze. I use SPF 30 on my body and SPF 50 on my face (after reading on A Model Recommends though that SPF 50 only neutralizes about 1% more of harmful rays than SPF30, I will happily go back to my SPF 30 all over). I love the protect and bronze, because for one it really moisturizes my skin and it does help me bronze, if ever so slightly. I don’t know exactly how that works because it says it has no self-tanner in but I visibly get some color when I wear it.

Summer read

Photo 08-06-2014 21 14 17
Probably due to my reading a lot of theoretical stuff for school, I needed a lighter read for my down time and as you saw last week I picked up Cassandra Clare’s City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire and started reading CoLS this week. I know I was a bit underwhelmed with City of Fallen Angels but I thoroughly enjoy City of Lost Souls so far. I haven’t read anything from Cassandra Clare  in over a year and picking up CoLS felt a bit like snuggling up with something very cozy and familiar. I really like meeting all of these characters again even though the story itself is pretty farfetched but not too tired and overdone, at least in my eyes but I generally don’t read those kinds of YA books anymore so I probably have nothing to compare it to.

Favorite Summer Look

Photo 08-06-2014 10 08 51 Photo 08-06-2014 10 08 13
I think I found my summer make up for 2014. Man, that Catrice It’s A Mat World lipstick was a great investment! This nice slightly orange red is definitely the center piece here. The look itself is inspired by a Lisa Eldridge/Charlotte Tilbury video that I watched a while ago, Charlotte did it on Kate Moss for a cover shoot.
For my variation I wore MAC Face&Body in C1 (I will not harp on about this anymore, you know this is my favorite foundation for summer and in general at the moment. I primed my eyes with essence I❤ stage eye shadow base, filled in my brows with the Catrice Brow Set and lined my upper lashline with the Max Factor Masterpiece liquid liner in brown (there is a reason to them discontinuing it, it is actually not a great product at all: super streaky and wears off quickly, must go back to my brown gel liner). Then I powdered and put on my trusted L’Oréal Miss Manga mascara (gah, I love this stuff. I smell holy grail). After that I contoured and bronzed with the Catrice Hip Trip Hydrating Bronzer and blended the contour with MAC Aphrodite’s Shell which I also used  as a blush, I just loved the bronzey glowy result. To add some color other than bronze to my face I put on Catrice It’s a Mat World, blotted and reapplied. The lipstick lasted almost 9 hours this way without touching up through eating and drinking, it is non-drying but matte (as the name indicates). Best 1.75€ ever spend.  It is not available anymore though, sorry about that.

Other Media Shizz

Photo 08-06-2014 21 02 45
I arrived at my favorite Sons of Anarchy season which is number three. The Sons go to Ireland. All hell breaks loose. Nuff said. I don’t know if production was really moved to Ireland, if not they did one hell of a job faking Ireland, it looks very authentic.The theme song got a celtic make over and all of the episode titles of the eps that take place in Ireland are in Gaelic.
Music-wise I’ve been loving the EP that was released accompanying season 3 called The King is Gone. It has a song performed by Katey Sagal, who plays Gemma on the show and has an incredibly beautiful voice, the Celtic version of the theme song and other tracks from the show which trigger a lot of memories for me. I just love this show and everything about it.

Anything else?
I’m about to finish my first week of the regular work out calandar and I am way more sore than with the beginner one, but it feels good! When you start seeing results it becomes an addiction. I read that on Instagram and it is true.

I finally made some progress with the thesis and I am about to hand in my abstract. Yay.

 

That was about it I think. Now, let’s make a big tick under this week and focus on the new one. Let it be productive and focused or whatever else it is that you want from the new week.

Read you all soon!

 

Leave a Reply

