Sunday Round Up #29 With A Side of Up Close and Personal

This was about the hardest week I had to endure in a long time.
I hate it when things are out of my control and I have to have faith in other people. This week I had to trust people to get the documents for my Master application ready and of course there was a shitload of drama involved. I’m not going to go into detail because it’s pretty pointless, suffice it to say that I got everything I needed but I had to put up big fight. If someone tries to tell you Germany is organized and punctual and shit; No we are not, especially not the authorities. Absolute disgrace for a reasonably developed country, just saying.

Either way I survived. And a lot better than I thought I would. I managed to stay positive throughout the whole week. I did have a panic moment on thursday (because of course everything accumulated on friday), but I did something about it by writing an e-mail and making a plan how I would tackle friday. Staying organized always helps me. It was a brief moment and didn’t  paralyze me for long like it used to. I managed to find ways to treat myself right and take the edge off the pressure. Working out helped but I have to say when the stress hit me hardest I skipped two days because I just didn’t have the time or the energy to do it. I allowed myself yolo food, stressfree reading, a wee bit of shopping and some light weight tv-watching (more on that further down). The insomnia didn’t hit me all that hard. I fell asleep relatively easily throughout the week. It may have helped that I worked 4 out of five days. Long story short, I found a way to treat myself right without completely falling apart and over-compensating. I drew a lot of strength from little happy things like my colleague saving me a chips container to put away so I had something ‘easy’ to do after the mildly annoying drugstore container I had to put away, my boss complaining about the drugstore aisle but being stopped short when my other boss told him it couldn’t have been a recent mess up because little old me worked the drugstore aisle this week. You know, the little stuff. And looking forward to hanging out with my bestie on saturday really helped.

So here’s to a mini Sunday Round Up:

Make up-wise my skin was finally healthy enough again for me to go back to MAC Face&Body. I had major hormonal break outs and cystic acne induced by the Nivea Protect and Bronze face cream that I talked about earlier, not gonna wear that again then. Instead I went back to my trusted Diadermine Lift+SPF cream, in fact I had to buy a new pot this week. I just love that stuff. BTW my face still tans despite the SPF 30 but it doesn’t burn.
I also got my first Real Techniques brushes, as they were sold at my local TK Maxx. I got the travel essentials set with the essential foundation, domed shadow and multitask brush. I have used them all already and they are SO good. Even the essential foundation even though I am usually not a fan of flat foundation brushes. I think I won’t use it for foundation but for concealer and eye primer. The domed shadow brush is denser than any brush I own and I am still playing with it, but I really like it so far.

Media-wise I finished City of Lost Souls yesterday and yep, I still like it. The book got me safely through the week. It is not particularly deep or demanding and therefore a really nice companion for a stressed mind like mine. I am currently reading J.R.Ward’s Lover Mine part one (book 8 in the series). I accidentally started to read that before reading book 7 and I didn’t even notice. So much for the quality of that series. It is rather entertaining though and I’ve gotten that far so I might just continue reading.
I marathoned Mistresses and really liked it. It is a show with Alyssa Milano whom I really like, lovely Lost lady Yunjin Kim and a dear old friend, Brett Tucker aka Dave Brewer of McLeod’s Daughters fame. The cast is great in this show, the storylines are somewhat predictable but still entertaining. To be honest for me it is really the cast and characters that make the show not so much the storylines. Other than that I started Suits last night and it may grow on me.+
Music-wise I am really in love with my black album by Metallica. The older I get the more I fall for Metallica, especially the old stuff is great.

Anything else? I think that was it.

I hope your week was not as stressful as mine and let’s hope I can finally manage to get a new rhythm to my days and get stuff figured out. Everything is moving at the moment and I have a little trouble to get a routine down, and we all know, not having routines makes me antsy. On thursday I have another appointment with my professor about the thesis and they are usually really inspiring and motivating.
Let’s all go into this new week with a positive attitude, don’t let anything strike you down, we got this!

Read you soon!

(Oh, I will add a pic later so that it’s not such a dry read.)

Leave a Reply

