[Up Close and Personal/ Organizing my Life] KAUFSTOP! Liberation from Consumerism

As I am waiting for the construction workers to get ready in the bathroom so I can actually leave the house and get on with my life, let’s address a question that is going around with me for a while: I HAVE TO STOP BUYING STUFF!

Photo 08-07-2014 13 24 28

Recently I realized that I spend too much money on things I don’t really need. Like, who needs 6 foundations? I have just the one face and it is not like they are all doing different things. And let’s face it (no pun intended) I keep on coming back to the same ones, while letting the others collect dust and you know what the worst part is? Catrice is coming out with two more foundations that I really want to try. Why on earth would I want that? I have three foundations that I really love, two of them I will repurchase once I run out. I still really like the other ones, so I will use those up and let it be.

Here is my contract with you guys: I promise to use up all of my extra foundations, those that didn’t make the cut and not to buy any new ones. Absolute Kaufstop! (I love my language sometimes, basically translated directly it would be purchase stop).

The two foundations I will repurchase are MAC Face and Body which has a sheer glowy finish for summer and good skin days and Max Factor Facefinity 3 in 1 which does everything my beloved MAC Studio Fix Fluid does with a slightly higher spf (20 vs 15) and it comes in at less then half the price. 

Next stop: Blushes, Bronzers
I have 4 bronzers and more blushes then I care to admit and the worst part, they are all similar shades -.- Absolute Kaufstop here, too (even though not going for the MAC and Marge Simpson blush really hurts) I have more blushes than I can use up in a life time, I haven’t hit pan on any of them. What rationally would be the best here is to weed out blushes that don’t perform as well, and the nth dupe of the soft coral blush in my collection. It hurts. But it is necessary. I don’t need all this, I can’t use up all this. Maybe I’ll let my friends go through the blushes maybe they want to pick one for themselves and the rest will have to go. And this time I will have to take my MAC collection into account as well. Any drugstore blush that is a dupe for a MAC blush will have to go.

Photo 08-07-2014 13 27 41

Lipsticks/glosses:
Same thing. Dupes need to go, and I can’t buy any new ones. Colors that look funny on me need to go. I need to break it down to one lipstick for any shade. I will let myself keep different finishes of the same color though,

Photo 08-07-2014 13 22 57

We can go on like this for everything; Mascara, eyeliners, eyeshadows, etc. Fact is I have to stop. No matter how much I crave something. It doesn’t make me happy longterm. It is like an addiction. When I buy something new, especially color cosmetics I am happy for about 5 minutes and then I have to feed the beast again. This cannot be healthy. It is unnecessary luxury that I should spend on keeping my body healthy because if I have learned anything, it is that good food and excercise is keeping me happy and sane, not buying more eyeshadows that I don’t wear.

Please by all means, don’t take this as me telling YOU what to do, this is me telling ME what to do! Do whatever makes you happy and if that is going shopping go for it, hell, it makes me happy. But not happy enough. I can only be truly happy when I am on top of my financial situation and right now I don’t feel balanced. This has to stop. 

And yes, this has to extend to nailpolishes, too. I made my last purchase yesterday and that has to be it. Nailpolish is my ultimate craze, but I realized that there is barely a polish that I ever wear more than once. I would love the satisfaction of using up a polish and I don’t mean top or basecoat here, those are necesseties like skincare, which are obviously excluded from the buying ban. With this I cannot promise that I will STOP completely but I will definitely buy very selectively from now on. I may go into detail on the sisterhood blog.

Also no new books except for the ones that I have on my list which are Deborah Harkness The Book of Life, Rob Thomas Veronica Mars- Mr. Kiss and Tell and Ken Follett Edge of Eternity. No new music and dvds either, I have Amazon Instant which should keep me happy and there is no new music coming out from my favorite bands.

The challenge is on as of now and indefinitely. I scheduled the first update for a month from now. The hardest part will be to stay honest with myself. I will make a list of all unnecessary purchases aka The List of Shame and we will go through it in a month. Bear with me if you like. Again I don’t mean to go judgemental or preachy on you all, this is my journey but sharing with you helps me to stick with it.

There may be more ‘organizing my life’ posts going up soon. I am going deep into my thesis now and I need to stay organized and focused, planning like this helps me a lot.

3 thoughts on “[Up Close and Personal/ Organizing my Life] KAUFSTOP! Liberation from Consumerism

    • ich bin bei blushes und bronzern schon besser geworden. bei meinem letzten aussortieren ist einiges weggekommen. in ein paar wochen geh ich noch mal durch. ich hab festgestellt wenn ich immer ein paar wegtue ist es leichter. bei den paletten muss ich auch mal gucken. da hab ich nur das problem, dass ich von einer catrice palette unbedingt den blush behalten will, aber ein bisschen angst vor dem depotten habe. foundations und nagellacke sind immer noch mein totales kryptonit. ich muss einfach selectiver werden *sfz

Leave a Reply

