My Vanity Tour/ Make Up Storage – September 2014

I’m still easing myself back into blogging or normal life in general at the moment so I thought I’d do so with a rather picture- heavy post.

I’ve been working on my vanity for a while and I quite like it even though I am far from perfectly happy with it but it will do for  now. All elements are IKEA unless otherwise specified. I am going to let you peek into all of my drawers. If there is a drawer where you want me to go into detail, please tell me so in the comments.
A little disclaimer: 1) I have more products then any person alone would need but I am working on using them up 2) I am also not doing this to brag but maybe someone who has as little space as me can get inspiration how to fit a lot of make up into it *cough.

Let’s go from the top:

Photo 13-09-2014 16 51 15

This is an overview as of now. The shelf is Billy, the drawers are Moppe (LOVE those, so convenient), the big mirror is our old bathroom mirror that I dressed up a little bit with aluminium foil and fake ivy strands.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 51 34

The top of the four drawer Moppe holds all of my day to day skincare (moisturizers. Cleansers are in the bathroom but I don’t want to store my creams there) as well as some random hair products and my beloved cotton swabs.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 51 54

The middle of the surface has the foundations and lip products that I reach for the most, plus my Naked 2 (still in its box, not ready to toss that) also bobby pins and random hoop earrings, love me some hoops.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 51 45

The other corner is home to my mascaras, eye liners in pencil form, chubby lipsticks and lip pencils.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 52 17

The top left drawer of my Moppe has my everyday-stuff: Eybrow set by Catrice, concealers, essence all about matt pressed powder, small black pencils that I want to use up, eyelash curlers, sharpeners and the mascara that I am currently using up.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 52 32

The top right drawer holds most of my drugstore palettes, quads and duos. I have a strict one in-one out policy for this drawer. I am only allowed to buy a new one when I am ready to let go of one of the old ones. Easier said then done I tell you. But I was strong and refrained from buying one of the Hello Autumn palettes so yay me!

Photo 13-09-2014 16 52 47

The bottom left drawer has all of my cream shadows, gel liners, also loose shadows, pigments and my depotted UD Primer Potion samples.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 52 58

The bottom right drawer has all of my single drugstore shadows plus my sun club fiver and essence quads. Especially the essence quad that peeks through at the top of the pic is one of my faves, it’s absolutely fool-proof and easy to handle and gives a lovely neutral eye.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 52 06

Let’s move below the surface, shall we? Here you can see the contents of my back up drawer. It holds mostly shampoos and foundations because I tend to rotate through those, it has also back up lash curlers, brush cleanser, shower gels, etc.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 53 11

The top left drawer of my six drawer Moppe has random foundations and primers. I have to sort through these and see what still works and what doesn’t, maybe I can move my foundations from the back up drawer in here (doubtful, there may be too many)

Photo 13-09-2014 16 53 21

The top right drawer has all my drugstore bronzers, blushers and highlighters plus one lonely Bronze Goddess sample. I already decimated this collection but there may be more movement soon.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 59 25

The middle left drawer holds all of my MAC lipsticks plus my beloved Benefit Ms. Behavin. They don’t fit into my MAC storage anymore but I like to have them seperate so I have them on my fingertips whenever I want to wear one.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 53 39

The middle right drawer is home to my lipglosses. For the fact that I don’t even like lipglosses I have about a sh*t ton of them. I already sorted a couple out but there are some that I can’t let go of, because I actually do really like them when I remember to wear them.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 53 48

The bottom left drawer of the six-drawer Moppe is reserved for my drugstore nude lipsticks. I still love my nudes even though they get swapped out a lot for bright or deep colors recently and that is why…

Photo 13-09-2014 16 54 02

… the bottom right drawer looks like this. Lots of deep reds and bright pinks and a lot of stuff in between. All of them drugstore except for the Chanel and Anayake samples which I need to move to the MAC lippy drawer. Anayake has the most amazing deep dark dried blood red lipstick I have ever seen. So glad I have this one in my arsenal for fall and winter.

Photo 13-09-2014 17 00 07

This is the rest of the bottom shelf that has make up-y stuff on it, oh, and my rings. I don’t wear those nearly enough. In the corner you can see my brushes, which I keep seperated by eyes and face brushes. The glossy box underneath has my suncare which I need to toss out because I had the stuff for two years now and you are only supposed to have it for one. Welp. The dark brown trunk-like box has my MAC stash, the little black box on the top my MAC single shadows.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 55 44

There you go.

Photo 13-09-2014 16 56 05

I’ve been thinking a lot about ‘the perfect stash’ recently and I came to the conclusion that my MAC stash comes pretty damn close. If I lost all my make up but got to keep my MAC things and maybe my Naked 2 because I just bought that, all I needed to add would be a brown liner pencil, black liquid liner, mascara, setting powder and some brow powder and I would be good to go for every occasion. It is a bit of a shock when you realize that most of your drugstore make up may be pretty and hold memories in some cases but it is really superfluous.

As per usual you can click on the pics to make them bigger. I hope you had fun rummaging through my stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

