Share the Love: Here’s to my Girls Jaclyn and Casey!

Remember how a few months ago I was complaining that I didn’t like my make up anymore, that I didn’t like applying it, that I didn’t like the outcome? That has changed pretty drastically over the last few months and it is largely because of Jaclyn Hill and Casey Holmes.

YouTube has always been a lot more about adapting techniques rather than picking up product recommendations (even though you might doubt that if you have read my xKarenina post from over a year ago). My first proper make up techniques I learned from copying xKarenina and the Pixiwoo sisters. A few months ago I had reached my limits with these techniques, they just didn’t do it for me anymore. That and my skincare was messing up my foundation situation, more on that later.

It was about that time that I randomly found Jaclyn Hill on YouTube. I couldn’t tell you anymore how at this point. However as soon as I did I fell into a Jaclyn-shaped hole and didn’t come up for air until I had binged on basically all of her videos that are available on YouTube. I remember that this Jaclyn-binge seriously messed with writing my thesis at the time but I regret nothing, NOTHING I tell you!

Jaclyn is a self-taught Florida-based make up artist who worked for MAC as well as doing free lance. Together with Gerard Cosmetics and Morphe she has launched lipsticks and lipglosses and a massive eyeshadow palette respectively. I wish I could get my hands on her eyeshadow palette but 18$ shipping to Europe is a bit hefty for my wallet at the moment. She has the most bubbly, sweet personality and never fails to put a smile on my face with her lovely goofiness. Her make up tutorials are little treasures to me that I HAVE to watch as soon as they hit my sub box, seriously I couldn’t pick a favorite if I tried. Most of her looks are very full on. Always with lashes, at least 3-5 different shadows, contour, blush, highlighter, the like. But they are also little pieces of art everytime. Beautifully and very perfectly executed make up application.

What I learned from her is definitely to shade and blend my crease with warm brown transition colors before applying the lid color. I specifically like a mixture of Honeycomb and Toast (or Toast on its own) from the Sleek Au Naturel palette for that, while I like Bark and Regal to deepen my outer corner.

Photo 23-02-2015 19 21 47

When it comes to single shadows I like Go Charlie Brown by Catrice (also nice to deepen the outer corner for a lighter more nude look), and from the new essence I ❤ nude range my favorite tauping. Note that I mostly use matte colors in the crease, I have come to not really like shimmer in my crease.

Photo 23-02-2015 19 22 27

Two other palettes that have made my life  a lot easier are the Catrice Absolute Matt and Absolute Rose plettes by Catrice. Both palettes have great taupey matte shades that work perfectly as crease shades.

Photo 23-02-2015 19 23 00

Also because of Jaclyn I rediscovered my 224 brush by Sigma which had previously been collecting dust . The 224 is the best to softly blend together crease shades. I am going to invest into a little smaller crease brush soon just to have a slightly more precise option.

My other big YouTube crush of recent months has been Casey Holmes. Southerner, dog mommy of three and with the most amazing no-bullshit kinda personality. Super fierce, super feisty, kinda sarcastic and still really sweet. Girl after my own heart in other words. Make up wise she and Jaclyn are rather similar: Full on, lashy, colorful and incredibly precisely executed. Much like Jaclyn she applies her crease colors/transition shades before the lid color, does an amazing job at contouring and her lips look always top notch.

From her I got the tape trick, to get a super precise eyeshape, the way to do your contour with that narrow flat top kabuki by Nars (the name escapes me, it actually looks a lot like the brushes you get in powder compacts, and one of those I am actually currently using when I feel like contouring) and partially because of her I recently got away from my super nudes into darker nudes .

Both girls together helped my with my brows. They are still not where I would like them but we are getting there (me and the brows that is).

I’m really grateful that I found these girls,both their personalities and skills really enrich my life at the moment and if you feel so inclined go give them a look-see or a follow, I feel they’re really worth your while.

The post in which I show you what I am doing differently with my make up will come up as soon as possible, but today was another of those days where it has been sleeting and raining all day and the light was absolutely horrendous. Sun in February in Germany can be really hard to come by.

Leave a Reply

