The Sunday Riley Experiment – Drugstore Version

When I watched the Tuesday Talk the Pixiwoos did with Sunday Riley, something she said struck a cord with me: She said that when your skin feels tight and drawn after cleansing, under the microscope you can basically see the skin crack up like earth in the desert. And then those little cracks are actually the perfect breeding ground for bacteria. Yikes, I know.

As I am getting older my skin has made a stunning transformation. I went from a VERY oily t-zone, to extremely dehydrated cheek-area and a normal to very slightly oily t-zone. It took me a while to understand what my skin needed and to react properly to it. As my skin is dehydrated oils don’t really work. Despite using a serum with hyaluronic acid underneath my alverde facial oil essentially just sat on my skin without properly penetrating and my face stayed dry.

On top of that I used very stripping cleansers to keep my two biggest nemeses black heads and subcutaneous white bumps at bay. These cleansers dried out my eye area (despite me trying very hard to avoid my eye area) to the point of flaking and texture on my eyelids and the inner corners of my eyes. My skin overall was angry sensitive and very very dry. Nothing would really help.

The first change came when I used a discontinued gel-based moisturizing mask by bebe. My skin inhaled the product and for the first time in weeks it felt almost comfortable. Because the product is discontinued I went to find an alternative and stumbled upon the balea line for dehydrated skin specifically which contains a cream gel (they also have an eye roll on, moisture serum and sheet mask ->Balea Aqua), bought it and BOY DID THAT THING MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

So this cream and the Tuesday Talk sparked the overhaul of my skincare routine. I decided to do this as a bit of an experiment and see what my skin feels like in the next 30 days. I don’t expect miracles, actually I am very weary of  the white bumps and black heads that I expect to get worse but I am ready to be surprised.

Here is my morning and night routine that I plan on keeping like this unless my skin deteriorates drastically. I am on a very tight budget at the moment so all of these products are drugstore.

Morning:
Alterra cleansing emulsion for very dry skin with organic shea butter and aloe (cream cleanser)
Rival de Loop Hydro eye cream for dehydrated skin (gel cream)
Rival de Loop Hydro moisturizing gel (serum with hyaluronic acid)
Balea Aqua moisturizing cream gel

Night:
Rival de Loop cleansing oil to break down oil, dirt, make up (discontinued but I have two back up bottles,oops :] I really hope they bring it back)
Alterra cleansing emulsion for very dry skin to cleanse the skin
Balea 5% Urea eye cream for very dry skin (has cleaned up all texture and flakiness within two uses)
Rival de Loop Age intensive serum (hyaluronic acid and detoxifying properties, don’t know about those but it does give an extra round of moisture)
Balea Aqua moisturizing cream gel

I am on the second day for this routine and so far my skin feels very comfortable, there is no tightness whatsoever, instead my skin looks really healthy and ‘plump’ (I hate the word ‘plump’). AND it doesn’t make me oily. So much win. On top of that I am pms’ing like a pro at the moment, which traditionally means that I have problems eating right and my skin is all over the place with cystic acne, etc. So far the acne is at a complete minimum, though.

Another disclaimer: I am aware that most of these products may not be too too great on the ingredients side but a) they are all formulated in Germany abiding by our rather strict laws when it comes to cosmetics and b) I AM ON A BUDGET. I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO SPEND 150.000€  ON SKINCARE PRODUCTS. I HAVE BILLS TO PAY AND A CAT TO FEED.

And another one: My only problem with this routine is that there is no sun screen in there, I am working on fixing that because, trust me I know how important sun screen is, especially with a skin as fair as mine.

20150612_130357

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Riley Experiment – Drugstore Version

  1. I tried cream-gel from Balea but very soon it starteed to feel to heavy. I guess my skin didn’t need that much anymore. Previous year in summer I used a lot serum from this line. I guess i didn’t see any bad review on a aqua serum. did you try it? Recently I came across several good reviews on an eye cream you showed in post. How long do you use it? AS i got it really nourishes skin, right?
    p.s. I’m also pms-ing:D (TMI) and my face went from clean to teenage state:/ I felt that im not alone when I read your post. I know in general I’m not alone with this..but it feels nice to read it exactly at this time:)

    • do you mean the balea or the rival de loop one (eyecream)? they both work really well for me, the rival de loop i have used for months now, the balea only for a week or two.
      i haven’t used the balea aqua serum yet, but i might get it once i’ve finished the rival de loop moisturizing one. did you like it?
      PMS is a bitch *ugh. can’t wait till she leaves the building:/ but yeah, it’s good to know we are not suffering alone😉

      • I meant Balea eye cream. Forgot to specify:) I liked aqua serum and I use it from time to time now. If you have sometimes dehydrated skin it’s good product for such a wonderful price. I didn’t see any bad reaction from it. Just after some time skin gets enough and doesn’t want to absorb all product propely . this is the moment I made a break as skin felt moisturized enough.🙂

Leave a Reply

