[Preview] Catrice Treasure Trove for Mid November 2015

I’m gonna do something today that I haven’t done in a while and that is to bring you the press release for the  upcoming Winter/Christmas limited edition of Catrice.

What can I say, I saw the packaging and may have hyperventillated a little. White and gold and stars. I mean STARS! The products seem to tick all of my boxes as well. Of course I don’t know anything yet about the quality, but Catrice has a good track record when it comes to quality. I would still suggest to not buy blindly and wait for some reviews, plus Catrice has recently been really good at providing testers with the LE trays. But enough with the yapping let’ s look at some pictures:

Lipsticks:

C01Jewel Daze

C01 Jewel Daze

C02Caviar And Champagne

C02 Caviar And Champagne

C03Treasured Twinkles

C03 Treasured Twinkles

Above you can see the three lipsticks that come with the collection. The cheat sheet that Catrice provided us with speaks of ‘intensive color’, ‘light texture’ and ‘subtle shine’. From that I would assume that they fall in the ball park of the usually black packaged Pure Color lipsticks which are usually creamy and pigmented with a buttery  sheen. The colors ARE very basic with nude, coral and red BUT I’m not sure if I can contain myself because of the packaging. I MIGHT go for the red (not that I already have enough of those).

Catrice Treasure Trove Precious Lip Colour

And this is the reason why I won’t be able to contain myself. If you click on the picture you can see the bigger version and you will see stars in the best way possible. Of course taste is a very personal but I think in terms of a drugstore Christmas LE Catrice are really knocking it out of the ball park packaging-wise.

Nailpolishes:

C01Jewel Daze

C01 Jewel Daze

C02Golden Grace

C02 Golden Grace

C03Caviar And Champagne

C03 Caviar And Champagne

C04Treasured Twinkles

C04 Treasured Twinkles

Nailpolishes are usually one of Catrice’s strength and after they got their brushes in check again, it should be fine. I do like the golden caps because I personally find them easier to wield, they do however make storage a lot harder. The colors fit with the collection and according to the cheat sheet they all have a pearl, no creams.

Eyeliner:

C01Golden Grace

C01 Golden Grace

The eyeliner is another product that is going to lead me into temptation because it is golden. I love my colored liquid and gel liners and if this liner yields opaque color I’m gonna want it.

Highlighter:

C01Golden Grace

C01 Golden Grace

The cool tone of this gold should make it work for a lot of skin tones. I personally prefer sheen over sparkle so let’s hope there is none of that in there. And of course the embossed stars and the clear acrylic packaging definitely appeals to me.

Blush:

C01Caviar And Champagne

C01 Caviar And Champagne

The cheat sheet calls this blush a combination of ‘warm rosewood with champagne highlights’. I would say the color is relatively unique in the drugstore because it is quite red. The blush seems to be the same size as the highlighter so you’ll get quite a nice amount of product.

Eyeshadow Palette:

C01Blaze Of Glory

C01 Blaze Of Glory

And last but not least the actual treasure trove of the collection: A neutral eyeshadow palette. Not overly cheap at 7,99€ but if the palette has a decent size (and it looks like the shadows are about the size of MAC shadows) it comes down to 1€ per shadow. The cheat sheet says, the palette contains matte as well as shimmery shades and the shadows are supposed to be silky-smooth and highly pigmented. Catrice shadows can be hit and miss, let’s hope these are a hit.

C01Blaze Of Glory

C01 Blaze Of Glory

Here is the lid of the case and yes, it makes my fingers itch and my wallett weep but MAN the design! Also it looks like a plastic case (Catrice uses cardboard boxes a lot in LEs but apperantly not this time) and the cheat sheet mentions an integrated mirror. Sounds pretty good to me and I will definitely look at the palette.

Now it’s your turn: What do you think? Are the colors too basic for you and the packaging too kitschy or are you about as excited about the limited edition as I am?

Leave a Reply

