Blogmas Day #5: My (Drugstore) Skincare Routine

This is one of those posts I’ve been wanting to do for a while. I am no expert like Caroline Hirons, mind you, but I think I have found something that my skin is really happy with (unless it is over-reacting to a new foundation -.-). My skin is combination dry cheeks/really oily t-zone, acne-prone and I am suffering from enlarged pores around my nose and forehead.

 

The Cleansers:

The Cleansers

The Cleansers

For make up removal I prefer cleansing milks, like the L’Oréal Hydra Active 3 skin-perfecting rich cleansing milk for dry and sensitive skin. It is quite oily which means it breaks down EVERYTHING even the Max Factor False Lash Effect waterproof mascara. It doesn’t dry out my skin and I feel like it removes all the gunk that I have on my face after a long day. I usually only use this product at night.

To cleanse my skin after I have taken the make up off or in the morning to get rid of the night oils I use the Neutrogena visibly clear Anti Blackhead daily peeling. This stuff has been a life saver after my skin was losing it over the Catrice foundation. It really deep cleans my skin and tightens the pores in the process. It also gets rid of break-outs and redness. My skin loves salicylic acid and getting exfoliated, so this is perfect.

My favorite toner is from the Body Shop and it is their Tea Tree Skin Clearing Toner. It is really tingly on the skin but I like that because it gives me the feeling that it is actually doing something. It is a little heavy on the alcohol and it is a little drying but since I follow up with good moisturizers it doesn’t bother me that much.

 

The Moisturizers

The Moisturizers

The Moisturizers

My La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (Euro version!) is a holy grail of mine. I seriously get nervous when I am running out of this. The Effaclar Duo soothes and uncloggs the skin. I don’t use this every day, when my skin is freaking out and I’m really struggling with break outs. It turns my skin around in a couple of days.

When the weather is getting colder I switch to a rich moisturizer and the ones from the L’Oréal Hydra Active line are those of my choice. I’m currently using the Hydra Active Glow which is slightly tinted but very very sheer so that it works with my pale skin, too. It does exactly what it says: It gives me a nice healthy glow and deeply hydrates and protects my skin in the process.

If I want something lighter or when the weather is more summery and hot I use the bebe More brighten up moisturizer. It is much lighter, has a lightly whipped consistency and sinks in super quickly but packs a surprising punch when it comes to hydrating the skin.

I have become a complete night cream convert. I don’t want to be without it anymore. At the moment I am using the Hydra Active 3 Night Cream. It has a buttery consistency, is super moisturizing and smells like roses and lavender, mmhhhh! When I use this before going to bed at night my skin looks super glowy , healthy and even when I wake up in the morning.

 

The Specials

The Specials

The Specials

I like to treat my skin when I’m in the shower, well, every other day when I’m in the shower. My way to do that is the Nivea pure effect all-in-1 daily deep cleanser.. This started out as a daily cleanser but it doesn’t contain salicylic acid and it didn’t keep my skin as nice and clean as I would have liked. Since it is clay-based and anti bacterial it makes for a good cleansing mask though. I apply a good dollop of this  all over my face and neck and let it do it’s magic while put in conditioner.

Another mask that I came to love is the Merz Spezial Foam Mask. It is extremely hydrating (perfect for my poor radiator/runny nose/cold weather affected skin). This comes out as a foam which I smooth all over my face. Ideally I put it on before I go to sleep, because it takes a moment to sink in. But when it does, it really sinks deeply into the skin and moisturizes and plumps. My skin and I have been loving it.

One thought on “Blogmas Day #5: My (Drugstore) Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: Review – Clearasil Daily Clear® Refreshing Superfruit Wash | Your Fairy Godmother

Leave a comment